Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

In 1945, the Bauhaus building in Dessau that had been designed by Walter Gropius was partially destroyed. After a makeshift repair, it was used as a school building over and over again in the following decades. The house was only restored in according to guidelines for historical monuments in 1976 as the GDR rediscovered the Bauhaus legacy for itself and began to use it for political purposes. This original site of Bauhaus history is now the headquarters for the Dessau Bauhaus Foundation. In Dessau-Rosslau, the institution – which was established in 1994 by the federal government, state and city – is dedicated to the preservation of a rich legacy and simultaneously makes contributions to shaping the environment of modern life. It is a cultural lighthouse in the new German states.

With 26,000 objects, the foundation has the second-largest Bauhaus collection in the world. A portion of it can be viewed in the permanent “Workshop of the Modern Age” exhibition that primarily presents the Dessau period of the Bauhaus from 1925 to 1932. It therefore reflects a phase in which the teaching activities, as well as the workshops and architecture department, were able to develop their greatest impact.
As a pillar of the teachings, the academy offers programmes such as the International Bauhaus College, which is an interdisciplinary offering of courses in English that is primarily oriented towards architects, urban designers and urbanists. In Dessau and on site in alternating cities throughout the entire world, the college allows young professionals from architecture and art, design and the humanities to gain an insight into the complex realities of contemporary cities. The programme is complemented by annual summer schools on various topics.
The new workshop is dedicated to the architectural and urban-planning issues of the present age. It most recently hosted the 2010 International Building Exhibition on Urban Redevelopment Saxony-Anhalt in 19 small and medium-sized cities of Saxony-Anhalt. During the eight years of this project, a competence centre for the changes and future perspectives in the shrinking cities has been created at the Dessau Bauhaus.

The international legacy and its actualisation have entered into a productive alliance in Dessau-Rosslau. As a result, more than 100,000 visitors from around the world come to the Bauhaus city in Sachsen-Anhalt every year in order to personally experience the defining school of design’s spirit on site. This is where tourists and experts become familiar with the Bauhaus in its entire complexity at a place that continues to be a living centre for scientific discourse and questions of design – as well as a location with exciting exhibitions and unique events in the midst of historic buildings. With the Masters‘ Houses and the Employment Office by Walter Gropius, the Kornhaus restaurant by Carl Fieger, the Laubenganghäuser (apartment buildings with balcony access) by Hannes Meyer or the Stahlhaus (steel house) by Georg Muche and Richard Paulick, key works of international modernity in architecture can be viewed in Dessau-Rosslau.

www.bauhaus-dessau.de

Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

Im Jahr 1945 wurde das von Walter Gropius entworfene Gebäude des Bauhauses in Dessau teilweise zerstört. Notdürftig repariert, fand es in den folgenden Jahrzehnten immer wieder Verwendung als Schulgebäude. Erst 1976 wurde das Haus denkmalgerecht rekonstruiert, als die DDR das Bauhauserbe für sich wiederentdeckte und für ihre politischen Zwecke einzusetzen begann. Heute ist dieser Originalschauplatz der Bauhausgeschichte Sitz der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau. Die 1994 von Bund, Land und Stadt gegründete Institution widmet sich in Dessau-Roßlau der Bewahrung eines reichhaltigen Erbes und leistet zugleich Beiträge zur Gestaltung der heutigen Lebensumwelt. Sie ist ein kultureller Leuchtturm in den neuen Bundesländern.

Mit 26.000 Objekten besitzt die Stiftung die weltweit zweitgrößte Bauhaus-Sammlung. Ein Teil davon ist in der Dauerausstellung „Werkstatt der Moderne“ zu besichtigen, die vor allem in die Dessauer Zeit des Bauhauses von 1925 bis 1932 einführt. Sie reflektiert damit eine Phase, in der sowohl der Schulbetrieb als auch Werkstätten und Architekturabteilung ihre größte Ausstrahlungskraft entfalten konnten.

Die Akademie als Säule der Lehre bietet unter anderem mit dem Internationalen Bauhaus Kolleg ein interdisziplinäres Lehrangebot in englischer Sprache an, das sich vor allem an Architekten, Stadtgestalter und Urbanisten richtet. In Dessau und vor Ort in wechselnden Städten in der ganzen Welt gestattet das Kolleg jungen Professionellen aus Architektur und Kunst, Design und Geisteswissenschaften einen Einblick in die komplexen Realitäten zeitgenössischer Städte. Jährliche Sommerschulen zu verschiedenen Themen ergänzen das Programm.

Die neue Werkstatt widmet sich architektonischen und stadtplanerischen Problemen der Gegenwart. Zuletzt richtete sie die „Internationale Bauausstellung Stadtumbau Sachsen-Anhalt 2010” in 19 Klein- und Mittelstädten Sachsen-Anhalts aus. In den acht Jahren des Projektes ist am Dessauer Bauhaus ein Kompetenzzentrum für die Veränderungen und Zukunftsperspektiven in schrumpfenden Städten entstanden.

In Dessau-Roßlau gehen Welterbe und Aktualisierung eine produktive Allianz ein. Mehr als 100.000 Besucher aus aller Welt besuchen deshalb jährlich die Bauhausstadt in Sachsen-Anhalt, um dem Geist der prägenden Hochschule für Gestaltung am Ort selbst nachzuspüren. Hier lernen Touristen und Fachleute das Bauhaus in seiner ganzen Vielschichtigkeit kennen – an einem nach wie vor lebendigen Zentrum für wissenschaftlichen Diskurs und Gestaltungsfragen, einem Ort spannender Ausstellungen und einzigartiger Veranstaltungen inmitten historischer Bauten. Mit den Meisterhäusern und dem Arbeitsamt von Walter Gropius, dem Kornhaus von Carl Fieger, den Laubenganghäusern von Hannes Meyer oder dem Stahlhaus von Georg Muche und Richard Paulick sind in Dessau-Roßlau Schlüsselwerke einer internationalen Moderne der Architektur zu besichtigen.

www.bauhaus-dessau.de