Wassily Kandinsky

Wassily Kandinsky, 1925

Wassily Kandinsky, 1925

Wassily Kandinsky began studying law and economics in Moscow in 1886, completing his studies with the state examination in 1892. In 1896, he relocated to Munich to attend Anton Azbè’s private art school there. In 1900, he studied at the art academy in Munich and was one of Franz von Stuck’s students. A year later, Kandinsky became co-founder of the artists’ association Phalanx. In 1904, his works were exhibited for the first time at the Salon d'Automne (autumn salon) in Paris. In 1909, he co-founded the Neue Künstlervereinigung München (new artists’ association of Munich). He created his first abstract composition in 1910; one year later, his groundbreaking book Concerning the Spiritual in Art was published. In 1911, he also produced the almanac Der Blaue Reiter (The Blue Rider) with Franz Marc. When war broke out, he initially fled to Switzerland and then returned to Moscow. Among other positions, he was the vice president of GACHN (formerly the Russian academy of the science of arts), developed programmes for INCHUK (Institute for artistic culture), was the co-organiser and director of the MSCHK (museum of painterly culture) and taught at the Russian state art and technical school, Vkhutemas.

In June 1922, Walter Gropius appointed Wassily Kandinsky to the Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar, where he taught until its closure in Berlin in 1933. From 1922 to 1925, he directed the wall painting workshop at the Bauhaus Weimar and taught classes on abstract form elements and analytical drawing in the preliminary course. In 1924, Kandinsky founded the artists’ association Die Blaue Vier (The Blue Four) group together with Alexej Jawlensky, Paul Klee and Lyonel Feininger.

At the Bauhaus in Dessau, he taught abstract form elements and analytical drawing in the preliminary course from 1925 to 1932. From the winter semester of 1926/27, he was the head of painting and from 1927, he directed the free painting workshop and free painting class. In 1926, he published the important Bauhaus book Point and Line to Plane. From 1932 to 1933 at the Bauhaus in Berlin, he was head of the preliminary course classes in abstract form elements and analytical drawing and of the free painting class. In 1933, Kandinsky emigrated to Paris and lived there in the suburb of Neuilly-sur-Seine until his death.

Literature:
Berlin-Moscow. Moscow-Berlin 1900–1950, Munich, New York 1995; Moeller, Magdalena M. (Ed.): The Early Kandinsky 1900–1910, Munich 1994;
Benesch, Evelyn and Brugger, Ingried (Ed.): Wassily Kandinsky: The Sound of Colour, 1900–1921, Bad Breisig 2004.

Wassily Kandinsky

Hugo Erfurth, Portrait Wassily Kandinsky, 1925/1928
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin / © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
Foto (Reproduktion): Markus Hawlik

Hugo Erfurth, Portrait Wassily Kandinsky, 1925/1928
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin / © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016
Foto (Reproduktion): Markus Hawlik

Wassily Kandinsky begann 1886 ein Jura- und Volkswirtschaftstudium in Moskau, das er 1892 mit dem Staatsexamen abschloss. 1896 siedelte er nach München über und besuchte dort die private Kunstschule von Anton Azbè. 1900 studierte er an der Münchener Kunstakademie und war Schüler bei Franz von Stuck. Ein Jahr später wurde Kandinsky Mitbegründer der Ausstellungs- und Künstlervereinigung Phalanx. 1904 wurden erstmals Werke von ihm im Pariser Salon d'Automne (Herbstsalon) ausgestellt. 1909 war er Mitbegründer der Neuen Künstlervereinigung München. 1910 entstand seine erste abstrakte Komposition, ein Jahr später erschien sein richtungsweisendes Buch „Über das Geistige in der Kunst“. Ebenfalls 1911 schuf er mit Franz Marc den Almanach „Der Blaue Reiter“. Nach Kriegsausbruch flüchtete er zunächst in die Schweiz und kehrte dann nach Moskau zurück. Dort war er u. a. Vizepräsident der GAChN (Staatliche Akademie der Kunstwissenschaften), entwickelte Programme für das INChUK (Institut für künstlerische Kultur), war Mitorganisator und Direktor des MSchK (Museum für Malereikultur) und unterrichtete an den VChUTEMAS (Höhere künstlerische und technische Werkstätten).

Im Juni 1922 wurde Wassily Kandinsky von Walter Gropius an das Staatliche Bauhaus in Weimar berufen, wo er bis zu dessen Schließung in Berlin 1933 unterrichtete. Von 1922 bis 1925 leitete er am Bauhaus Weimar die Werkstatt für Wandmalerei und unterrichtete die Kurse „Abstrakte Formelemente“ und „Analytisches Zeichnen“ im Vorkurs. 1924 gründete Kandinsky mit den Künstlern Alexej von Jawlensky, Paul Klee und Lyonel Feininger die Gruppe „Die Blaue Vier“.

Am Bauhaus in Dessau unterrichtete er von 1925 bis 1932 „Abstrakte Formelemente“ und „Analytisches Zeichnen“ im Vorkurs. Ab dem Wintersemester 1926/27 war er Leiter des Unterrichts in Malerei, ab 1927 leitete er die Freie Werkstatt Malerei bzw. Freie Malklasse. 1926 publizierte er das bedeutende Bauhausbuch „Punkt und Linie zu Fläche“. Von 1932 bis 1933 war er am Bauhaus Berlin Leiter des Unterrichts „Abstrakte Formelemente“ und „Analytisches Zeichnen“ im Vorkurs sowie der freien Malklasse. Nach 1933 emigrierte Kandinsky nach Paris und lebte dort bis zu seinem Tod im Vorort Neuilly-sur-Seine.

Literatur:
Antonova, Irina & Jörn Merkert (1995): Berlin–Moskau. Moskau–Berlin 1900-1950, München, New York; Benesch, Evelyn & Ingried Brugger (2004): Wassily Kandinsky. Der Klang der Farbe. 1900-1921, Bad Breisig; Moeller, Magdalena M. (1994): Der frühe Kandinsky 1900–1910, München; Stephan, Erik (2009): Kandinsky am Bauhaus. Punkt und Linie zu Fläche, Jena; Friedel, Helmut (2008): Kandinsky. Absolut abstrakt, München; Wagner, Christoph (2005): Das Bauhaus und die Esoterik. Johannes Itten, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Bielefeld.

.