Richard Paulick

Unknown photographer, Portrait of Richard Paulick, c. 1931
Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau / © private archive of Gabriele Paulick

Unknown photographer, Portrait of Richard Paulick, c. 1931
Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau / © private archive of Gabriele Paulick

After completing his university entrance exam in Dessau, Richard Paulick was drawn to study architecture at the Dresden Technical University in 1923. The eager student created a foundation for the acquired theoretical knowledge as a mason’s apprentice in Dessau and Coswig during the semester break. Starting in 1925, Paulick was hired as the “guide who explains the townscape and landscape” in Dessau. In this function, he first established personal and then later more intensive ties with the Bauhäusler right after they arrived in the city. During a six-month position as a freelancer in the architecture office of Walter Gropius, Paulick developed an especially close relationship with Georg Muche and Marcel Breuer. Together with the two of them, he searched for solutions in issues of residential and urban building. Among other projects, the “Metal Prototype House” (1926-1927) – which Muche and Paulick had planned together – was created within this context.

Parallel to his activities at the Bauhaus, Paulick continued his architecture studies with Hans Poelzig at the Technical University in Berlin-Charlottenburg from August 1925 to June 1927. Directly after the final exam, he was rehired at the private architecture studio of Gropius, who included him in the work on the Dessau Employment Office and the second construction phase of the Dessau-Törten housing estate. After Gropius left Dessau and the Bauhaus in spring of 1928, Paulick became his manager on site and completed ongoing projects. In June 1929, the young architect followed Gropius to Berlin and worked for him until he opened his own office in the summer of 1930.

After the takeover by the National Socialists, Paulick immigrated to China and stayed there until 1949. During his exile, he worked for The Modern Home in Shanghai form 1933 to 1937. In 1937, Paulick and his brother founded the Modern Homes Company that was also based in Shanghai. This was followed in 1942 by the establishment of Paulick and Paulick, Architect and Civil Engineers, as well as an appointment at the local university. In 1945, Paulick directed the city’s urban planning office and had the position of top building consultant for the All-Chinese Railway starting in 1946. 

After his return to Germany in 1950, Paulick quickly had a career at the Institute for Building at the German Academy of Sciences in Berlin and as a member of the Germany Building Academy in Berlin. He was vice-president of the latter from 1955 to 1965. His outstanding projects include section C of Stalinallee (1952 – 1953) and designs for the reconstruction of the German State Opera (1951 – 1955). Above all, Paulick‘s work as the head architect of the “socialist cities” of Hoyerswerda (1958 – 1960), Schwedt an der Oder (1962 – 1965) and Halle-Neustadt (1963 – 1968) had a lasting effect.

Paulick’s accomplishments as an architect and urban planner were recognised in 1951 with the award of the City of Berlin’s Goethe Prize, the National Prize 1st Class (1952) and the National Prize for the construction of the German State Opera of Berlin (1956).

References:
Behr, Adalbert: Richard Paulick, in: Behr, Adalbert (1990): Große Baumeister (2). Hinrich Brunsberg, Elias Holl, Leonhard Christoph Sturm, Leo von Klenze, Gotthilf Ludwig Möckel, Ludwig Hoffmann, Richard Paulick, Berlin; Ebert, Jens (2004): Richard Paulick. Architekt und Städtebauer zwischen Bauhausideal und realem Sozialismus, Dessau; Thöner, Wolfgang (2006); Müller, Peter: Bauhaus-Tradition und DDR-Moderne. Der Architekt Richard Paulick, München, Berlin.

Richard Paulick

Unbekannter Fotograf, Portrait Richard Paulick, ca. 1931
Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

Unbekannter Fotograf, Portrait Richard Paulick, ca. 1931
Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau

Nach dem in Dessau abgelegten Abitur zog es Richard Paulick 1923 zum Architekturstudium an die Technische Hochschule in Dresden. Die erworbenen theoretischen Kenntnisse erweiterte der engagierte Student in den Semesterferien mit einer Maurerlehre in Dessau und Coswig. Ab 1925 war Paulick als „Stadtbilderklärer und Landschaftsführer“ in Dessau angestellt. In dieser Funktion knüpfte er erste persönliche, später intensivierte Kontakte zu den gerade in der Stadt angekommenen Bauhäuslern. Während einer sechsmonatigen Anstellung als freier Mitarbeiter im Baubüro von Walter Gropius entwickelte Paulick eine besonders enge Beziehung zu Georg Muche und Marcel Breuer. Gemeinsam mit ihnen suchte er nach Lösungen in Fragen des Wohnungs- und Städtebaus. In diesem Zusammenhang entstand unter anderem das „Metall-Typenhaus“ (1926-1927), das Muche und Paulick gemeinsam geplant hatten.

Parallel zu seinen Aktivitäten am Bauhaus setzte Paulick von August 1925 bis Juni 1927 sein Architekturstudium bei Hans Poelzig an der Technischen Hochschule in Berlin-Charlottenburg fort. Unmittelbar nach dem Abschlussexamen erfolgte seine Wiedereinstellung in das private Bauatelier von Gropius, der ihn in die Arbeiten zum Dessauer Arbeitsamt und zur zweiten Bauphase der Siedlung Dessau-Törten einband. Nachdem Gropius Dessau und das Bauhaus im Frühjahr 1928 verlassen hatte, agierte Paulick als sein Büroleiter vor Ort und schloss die laufenden Projekte ab. Im Juni 1929 folgte der junge Architekt Gropius nach Berlin, wo er bis zur Eröffnung eines eigenen Büros im Sommer 1930 für ihn arbeitete.

Nach der Machtergreifung durch die Nationalsozialisten emigrierte Paulick nach China, wo er sich bis 1949 aufhielt. Im Exil wirkte er von 1933 bis 1937 für die Firma „The Modern Home“ in Shanghai. 1937 gründete Paulick mit seinem Bruder das Unternehmen „Modern Homes“, das ebenfalls in Shanghai ansässig war. 1942 folgte die Gründung der Firma „Paulick and Paulick, Architect and Civil Engineers“ sowie eine Berufung an die örtliche Universität. Paulick leitete 1945 das Stadtplanungsamt der Metropole und hatte ab 1946 die Position des obersten Bauberaters der Allchinesischen Eisenbahn inne.

Nach seiner Rückkehr nach Deutschland 1950 machte Paulick schnell Karriere im Institut für Bauwesen an der Deutschen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Berlin bzw. als Mitglied der Deutschen Bauakademie in Berlin, deren Vizepräsident er von 1955 bis 1965 war. Zu seinen herausragenden Projekten zählen der Abschnitt C der Stalinallee (1952-1953) und die Entwürfe zum Wiederaufbau der Deutschen Staatsoper (1951-1955). Vor allem Paulicks Tätigkeit als Chefarchitekt der „sozialistischen Städte“ Hoyerswerda (1958-1960), Schwedt an der Oder (1962-1965) und Halle-Neustadt (1963-1968) war von nachhaltiger Wirkung.

Paulicks Leistungen als Architekt und Städteplaner wurden 1951 mit der Verleihung des Goethepreises der Stadt Berlin, des Nationalpreises I. Klasse (1952) und des Nationalpreises für den Aufbau der Deutschen Staatsoper Berlin (1956) gewürdigt.

Literatur
Thöner, Wolfgang; Müller, Peter: Bauhaus-Tradition und DDR-Moderne. Der Architekt Richard Paulick, München, Berlin 2006;
Ebert, Jens: Richard Paulick. Architekt und Städtebauer zwischen Bauhausideal und realem Sozialismus, Dessau 2004;
Behr, Adalbert: Richard Paulick, in: Große Baumeister (2): Hinrich Brunsberg, Elias Holl, Leonhard Christoph Sturm, Leo von Klenze, Gotthilf Ludwig Möckel, Ludwig Hoffmann, Richard Paulick, hg. v. Behr, Adalbert für die Bauakademie der DDR, Berlin 1990, S. 297-347.