Marianne Brandt

Unknown photographer (Marianne Brandt?), Marianne Brandt, c. 1926
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Unknown photographer (Marianne Brandt?), Marianne Brandt, c. 1926
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Marianne Brandt began her education in art in 1911 at a private art school in Weimar. Afterwards, she was accepted at the Hochschule für Bildende Kunst Weimar (now the Bauhaus-Universität Weimar) and studied painting with the artists Fritz Mackensen and Robert Weise before studying sculpture with Richard Engelmann. In 1919, she married the Norwegian painter Erik Brandt. In 1920, she took a one-year study tour with visits to Paris and the south of France. She came to the Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar in 1924. Brandt attended the preliminary course taught by Josef Albers and László Moholy-Nagy, as well as classes by Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky. In addition, she worked in the metal workshop with László Moholy-Nagy.

She continued her training at the Bauhaus in Dessau and continued her work in the metal workshop with László Moholy-Nagy. In 1926, she had already designed the first lighting fixtures for the Bauhaus Building in Dessau. From the summer semester of 1927, she was in charge of technical experiments in lighting in the metal workshop. From May 1928 to 1st July 1929, she was the director of the metal workshop. On 10th September 1929, she earned her Bauhaus diploma, the diploma no. 2 of the metal workshop. In 1928 and 1929, Brandt and Hin Bredendieck also organised the collaboration with the companies Körting & Mathiesen AG (Kandem) in Leipzig and Schwintzer & Gräff in Berlin. At the same time, she worked with Hin Bredendieck and others on designs for lighting fixtures for mass production.

Brandt left the Bauhaus at the end of 1929, having worked at the architecture office of Walter Gropius from July to December 1929. She contributed to the interior design of the Karlsruhe-Dammerstock housing estate. Afterwards, she directed the design department of the company Ruppelwerk Metallwarenfabrik GmbH in Gotha until 1932. She lived in Chemnitz from 1933 to 1945. In 1939, she became a member of the Reich Chamber of Culture, yet she did not join the NSDAP. In 1949, Mart Stam appointed her as a lecturer at the HfBK Dresden. She worked at the University of Applied Art (now the Berlin Weißensee School of Art) until 1954. At the same time, she supervised the exhibition Deutsche Angewandte Kunst der DDR (German applied art of the GDR) in Beijing and Shanghai in 1953/54. Her reputation was established above all by her industrial products made from metal and glass. She also produced numerous photographs and photomontages.

Literature:
Otto, Elisabeth: A „Schooling of the Senses“: Post-Dada Visual Experiments in the Bauhaus Photomontages of László Moholy-Nagy and Marianne Brandt, in: NEC. New German Critique, 107, (2009), S. 89-131;
Otto, Elisabeth (Hg.): Tempo, Tempo! Bauhaus-Fotomontagen von Marianne Brandt, Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin, Berlin: Jovis, 2005;
Wynhoff, Elisabeth (Hg.): Marianne Brandt: Fotografien am Bauhaus. Ausstellung im Institut für Kunst und Design im Kolkmannhaus, Wuppertal, Ostfildern: Hatje Cantz, 2003;
Weinert, Manja: Marianne Brandt. Fotomontagen und Foto-Text-Collagen, Berlin: Humboldt-Universität, Diplomarbeit, 2003;
Weise, Anne-Kathrin: Leben und Werk von Marianne Brandt, Berlin: Humboldt-Universität, Dissertation, 1995.

Marianne Brandt

Unbekannt (Marianne Brandt ?), Portrait Marianne Brandt, um 1926
Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin

Unbekannt (Marianne Brandt ?), Portrait Marianne Brandt, um 1926
Bauhaus-Archiv / Museum für Gestaltung, Berlin

Marianne Brandt begann ihre künstlerische Ausbildung 1911 in Weimar an einer privaten Kunstschule. Danach wurde sie an der Hochschule für Bildende Kunst in Weimar aufgenommen,  studierte bei den Künstlern Fritz Mackensen und Robert Weise Malerei und später bei Richard Engelmann Bildhauerei. 1919 heiratete sie den norwegischen Maler Erik Brandt. Ein Jahr später unternahm sie eine einjährige Studienreise mit Aufenthalten in Paris und Südfrankreich. An das Staatliche Bauhaus in Weimar kam Brandt 1923. Sie besuchte den Vorkurs bei Josef Albers und László Moholy-Nagy sowie den Unterricht bei Paul Klee und Wassily Kandinsky. Außerdem arbeitete sie in der Metallwerkstatt bei László Moholy-Nagy.

Am Bauhaus in Dessau setzte sie ihre Ausbildung fort, dort ebenfalls in der Metallwerkstatt bei Moholy-Nagy. Bereits 1926 entwarf sie erste Beleuchtungskörper für das Dessauer Bauhausgebäude. Seit dem Sommersemester 1927 leitete sie die lichttechnischen Versuche in der Metallwerkstatt. Von Mai 1928 bis zum 1.7.1929 war Brandt die Leiterin der Metallwerkstatt. Am 10.9.1929 machte sie das Bauhausdiplom Nr. 2 der Metallwerkstatt. Hier organisierte sie zusammen mit Hin Bredendieck in den Jahren 1928 und 1929 auch die Zusammenarbeit mit den Firmen Körting & Mathiesen AG (Kandem) in Leipzig und mit Schwintzer & Gräff in Berlin. Gleichzeitig entwarf sie u. a. mit Hin Bredendieck Beleuchtungskörper für die Serienproduktion.

Ende 1929 verließ sie das Bauhaus. Im Architekturbüro von Walter Gropius arbeitete Brandt von Juli bis Dezember 1929. Dort war sie an der Inneneinrichtung der Ausstattung der Siedlung Karlsruhe-Dammerstock beteiligt. Danach leitete sie bis 1932 die Entwurfsabteilung der Metallwarenfabrik Ruppelwerk GmbH in Gotha. Von 1933 bis 1945 lebte sie in Chemnitz. 1939 wurde sie Mitglied der Reichskulturkammer. In die NSDAP trat sie nicht ein. Mart Stam berief sie 1949 als Dozentin an die Hochschule der Bildenden Künste in Dresden. Bis 1954 arbeitete sie an der Hochschule für angewandte Kunst in Berlin-Weißensee. Gleichzeitig betreute sie 1953/54 die Ausstellung „Deutsche Angewandte Kunst der DDR“ in Peking und Shanghai. Bekannt wurde sie vor allem durch Industrieprodukte aus Metall und Glas. Außerdem schuf sie zahlreiche Fotografien und Fotomontagen.

Literatur
Otto, Elisabeth: A „Schooling of the Senses“: Post-Dada Visual Experiments in the Bauhaus Photomontages of László Moholy-Nagy and Marianne Brandt, in: NEC. New German Critique, 107, (2009), S. 89-131;
Otto, Elisabeth (Hg.): Tempo, Tempo! Bauhaus-Fotomontagen von Marianne Brandt, Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin, Berlin: Jovis, 2005;
Wynhoff, Elisabeth (Hg.): Marianne Brandt: Fotografien am Bauhaus. Ausstellung im Institut für Kunst und Design im Kolkmannhaus, Wuppertal, Ostfildern: Hatje Cantz, 2003;
Weinert, Manja: Marianne Brandt. Fotomontagen und Foto-Text-Collagen, Berlin: Humboldt-Universität, Diplomarbeit, 2003;
Weise, Anne-Kathrin: Leben und Werk von Marianne Brandt, Berlin: Humboldt-Universität, Dissertation, 1995.