Margaret Camilla Leiteritz

C. H. Rudolph, Margaret Camilla Leiteritz, 1931
Nachlass Margaret Camilla Leiteritz

C. H. Rudolph, Margaret Camilla Leiteritz, 1931
Nachlass Margaret Camilla Leiteritz

Margaret Camilla Leiteritz, the daughter of the Art Nouveau artist Woldemar Leiteritz, was born in Dresden on 19 April 1907. From 1918 to 1924, she attended the local Higher Girls’ School, before studying librarianship in Dresden and Leipzig, graduating in 1926. She worked in Dresden Municipal Library from 1927 to 1928, giving up the job in order to train at the Bauhaus in Dessau.

The beginning of her studies there in1928 was particularly influenced by her training in the preliminary course, taught by Josef Albers (materials and handicrafts), Hinnerk Scheper (perspective), Joost Schmidt (type and advertising) and Wassily Kandinsky (abstract formal elements). Up to1931, the year in which Leiteritz received her diploma and left the Bauhaus, she studied in the Mural Workshop, which was headed initially byScheper and starting in June1929 by Alfred Arndt. She also studied for four semesters in the free painting classes taught by Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky, and in1931 attended Joost Schmidt’s course in nude and figure drawing.

A competition opened to all of the students at the Bauhaus by Hannes Meyer for pattern designs for the Rasch Ltd. wallpaper factory was of course of particular interest to students in the Mural Workshop. In1929, Margaret Camilla Leiteritz won a third of the prizes awarded in the competition; the rest all went to Hans Fischli, who was to remain a lifelong friend of hers. After the competition, she was entrusted with colouring tasks and monitoring of wallpaper production at the Rasch company and thus had a decisive influence on the development of the first Bauhaus wallpapers.

Leiteritz interrupted her studies at the Bauhaus in 1929–30 for a traineeship as a stage designer at the State Theatre in Kassel, and also for a visit to Paris lasting several weeks during the summer semester of1930.

In 1931, she was appointed to a librarianship post in the Arts and Crafts Museum in Dresden, which she held until 1945. Much of her artistic work was lost during the bombing of Dresden and her flight to Silesia. The surviving materials include photographs of paintings that were destroyed, costume studies from1928, and illustrative pieces on works by ancient Greek and modern authors.

In 1946, Leiteritz found her way to the Harz region, where she worked as a designer for the Goebel Master Painters and Decorators company in Gebhardshagen. In 1950, she moved to Wuppertal, where she worked for two years as a librarian and director of the Paint Materials Collections of the ‘Dr. Kurt Herberts’ paint factory – a company that Oskar Schlemmer had worked in during the war – and began to paint once again. She entered the last stage in her professional career in 1952 as librarian at the Document Centre of the Institute for Gas Technology at the Technical University of Karlsruhe, where she worked until 1973.

Margaret Camilla Leiteritz died on 29 March 1976. Recognitions and appreciations of her artistic work while she was still alive included her participation in the “50 Jahre Bauhaus” exhibition in Stuttgart in 1968. In 1977, some of her work was presented at the Cologne Art Fair, and one-person exhibitions have been held in the Municipal Library in Karlsruhe in 2002/2003, in the Museum of Applied Art in Frankfurt in 2004, in the Kloster Bentlage Rheine cultural centre in 2006, and again in 2006 in the Kandinsky/Klee Masters’ Houses in Dessau.

Margaret Camilla Leiteritz

C. H. Rudolph, Margaret Camilla Leiteritz, 1931
Nachlass Margaret Camilla Leiteritz / © Nachlass Margaret Camilla Leiteritz: Heinrich P. Mühlmann, Dorsten

C. H. Rudolph, Margaret Camilla Leiteritz, 1931
Nachlass Margaret Camilla Leiteritz / © Nachlass Margaret Camilla Leiteritz: Heinrich P. Mühlmann, Dorsten

Margaret Camilla Leiteritz wurde am 19. April 1907 als Tochter des Jugendstilkünstlers Woldemar Leiteritz in Dresden geboren. Ab ihrem 11. Lebensjahr besuchte Margaret Camilla Leiteritz bis 1924 die örtliche Höhere Mädchenschule, bevor sie anschließend bis 1926 eine Ausbildung zur Bibliothekarin in Dresden und Leipzig absolvierte. Von 1927 bis 1928 arbeitete sie in der Stadtbibliothek Dresden – eine Anstellung, die sie schließlich zugunsten der Ausbildung am Bauhaus in Dessau aufgab.
Der Studienbeginn 1928 war vor allem durch die Ausbildung im Rahmen des Vorkurses unter der Leitung von Josef Albers (Material und Werklehre), Hinnerk Scheper (Perspektive), Joost Schmidt (Schrift und Reklame) und Wassily Kandinsky (Abstrakte Formelemente) geprägt. Bis 1931, dem Jahr, in dem Leiteritz ihr Bauhausdiplom erhielt und das Bauhaus verließ, war sie Schülerin in der Wandmalereiwerkstatt, die zunächst von Scheper, ab Juni 1929 von Alfred Arndt geleitet wurde. Zusätzlich besuchte sie vier Semester lang die freien Malklassen Paul Klees und Wassily Kandinskys sowie 1931 Joost Schmidts Unterricht in Akt- und Figurenzeichnen.

Ein von Hannes Meyer unter allen Bauhausstudenten ausgeschriebene Wettbewerb für Musterentwürfe für die Tapetenfabrik Gebr. Rasch GmbH & Co. war für die Studenten der Wandmalereiwerkstatt naturgemäß von besonderem Interesse. 1929 gewann Margaret Camilla Leiteritz ein Drittel der  ausgelobten Preise. Die verbliebenen Preise gingen an Hans Fischli, dem Leiteritz in lebenslanger Freundschaft verbunden war. Nach Abschluss des Wettbewerbs wurde sie mit Kolorierungsaufgaben und der Überwachung der Tapetenproduktion betraut und war damit maßgeblich an der Entwicklung der ersten Bauhaustapeten beteiligt.

Das Studium am Bauhaus unterbrach Leiteritz 1929/30 für ein Volontariat als Bühnenbildnerin am Staatstheater Kassel und im Sommersemester 1930 wegen eines mehrwöchigen Parisaufenthalts.

1931 erhielt Margaret Camilla Leiteritz eine Stelle als Bibliothekarin am Dresdner Kunstgewerbemuseum, die sie bis 1945 innehatte. Während der Bombardierung Dresdens und der Flucht nach Schlesien ging ein Grossteil ihres künstlerischen Werkes verloren. Erhalten haben sich u. a. Fotografien zerstörter Gemälde, Kostümstudien von 1928 sowie illustrative Arbeiten zu Werken altgriechischer und moderner Autoren.

1946 verschlug es Leiteritz in den Harz, wo sie bis 1949 als Entwerferin für die Fa. Malermeister R. Goebel in Gebhardshagen arbeitete. 1950 übersiedelte die Künstlerin nach Wuppertal. Hier war sie zwei Jahre als Bibliothekarin und Leiterin der Malstoffkundlichen Sammlungen der Lackfabik Dr. Kurt Herberts & Co. tätig – eine Firma, in der Oskar Schlemmer während des Krieges gewirkt hatte – und begann erneut zu malen. Die letzte Station ihres Berufslebens trat Leiteritz 1952 als Bibliothekarin in der Literaturstelle des Instituts für Gastechnik der Karlsruher Technischen Hochschule an. Hier arbeitete sie bis 1973.

Margaret Camilla Leiteritz verstarb am 29. März 1976. Vor ihrem Tod erlebte sie die Würdigung ihres künstlerischen Schaffens u. a. 1968 mit der Teilnahme an der Ausstellung „50 Jahre Bauhaus“ in Stuttgart. 1977 wurden Teile ihres Werkes auf der Kölner Kunstmesse präsentiert, während 2002/2003 in der Stadtbibliothek Karlsruhe, 2004 im Museum für Angewandte Kunst Frankfurt, 2006 im Kloster Bentlage Rheine und ebenfalls 2006 in den Meisterhäusern Kandinsky/Klee in Dessau Personalausstellungen stattfanden. 

Literatur:
Lindemann, Klaus E. R. (1987): Die Bauhauskünstlerin Margaret Leiteritz. Gemalte Diagramme, Karlsruhe; Museum für Angewandte Kunst Frankfurt (2004): Margaret Camilla Leiteritz. Baushauskünstlerin und Bibliothekarin, Frankfurt; Mühlmann, Heinrich P. & Andrea Krieg (2004): Margaret Camilla Leiteritz. Bibliothekarin und Malerin, AKMB-news, 10, Nr. 1, S. 43-47, http://archiv.ub.uni-heidelberg.de/artdok/volltexte/2007/321.