Lucia Moholy

Lucia Moholy, Selbstportrait, 1930

Lucia Moholy, Selbstportrait, 1930

In 1912, Lucia Schulz qualified as a German and English teacher and moved on to university, studying art history and philosophy in Prague. From 1915 to 1918, she worked as an editor and copy editor for a number of publishing houses, including Hyperion and Kurt Wolff in Berlin. In 1919, she stayed in Heinrich Vogeler’s Barkenhoff (lit: Birch-tree cottage) in Worpswede near Bremen. She published Expressionist literature under the pseudonym Ulrich Steffen. In 1920, she became editor of the publishing house Rowohlt in Berlin. The following year, she married László Moholy-Nagy, who would go on to become a Bauhaus master. From 1922 to 1923, they worked together in the field of experimental photography.

With her husband appointed to the Bauhaus Weimar in 1923, Moholy began an apprenticeship in one of its photography studios and at the same time photographed objects produced in the Bauhaus workshops for publications. From 1923 to 1925, she worked as a freelance photographer at the Bauhaus Weimar, resuming the same post at the Bauhaus Dessau from 1925 to 1928. From 1925 to 1926, she studied photographic and printing techniques at the Akademie für grafische Künste und Buchgewerbe Leipzig (Academy of Visual Arts, Leipzig). Her important works from this period include a comprehensive photo series on the new Bauhaus Building and the Masters’ Houses in Dessau for the press and for the Bauhaus Books, which established her as an authentic voice in the process of documenting the Bauhaus by 1928. During this period, she also produced photographs of objects made in the workshops and portrait series of the Bauhaus’s teachers and friends.

After leaving the Bauhaus in 1928, she worked with the photographic agency Mauritius and was represented at the Deutscher Werkbund (German Work Federation) exhibition Film und Foto in Stuttgart in 1929. She separated from her husband the same year. As the successor of Otto Umbehr (Umbo), she was hired as a specialist subject teacher for photography at Johannes Itten’s school in Berlin. In 1933, she emigrated via Prague, Vienna and Paris to London and worked there as a portrait photographer and author. In the following years, she directed documentary films for numerous important archives and UNESCO projects in the Near and Middle East. After relocating to Switzerland in 1959, she worked in publishing, focusing on art criticism and art education, and participated in many exhibitions.

Literature:
Schöbe, Lutz (Hg.): Bauhaus. Fotografie aus der Sammlung der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau, Florenz 2004;
Sachsse, Rolf: Lucia Moholy. Bauhaus-Fotografin, Berlin 1995;
Hartmann, Sabine: Lucia Moholy − Bauhaus-Fotografin, in: Museums Journal (Berlin), H. 2, 1995;
Mercedes Valdivieso: Eine 'symbiotische Arbeitsgemeinschaft' und die Folgen - Lucia und László Moholy-Nagy, in: Berger, R. (Hg.): Liebe Macht Kunst. Künstlerpaare im 20. Jahrhundert, Köln/Weimar/Wien 2000, S. 65-85.

Lucia Moholy

Lucia Moholy, Selbstportrait, 1930
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin / © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016

Lucia Moholy, Selbstportrait, 1930
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin / © VG Bild-Kunst, Bonn 2016

1912 erwarb Lucia Schulz die Lehramtsbefähigung für Deutsch und Englisch und studierte danach Kunstgeschichte und Philosophie an der Universität in Prag. Zwischen 1915 und 1918 war sie als Redakteurin und Lektorin in mehreren Verlagen tätig, u. a. bei Hyperion und Kurt Wolff in Berlin. 1919 hielt sie sich auf dem Barkenhoff von Heinrich Vogeler in Worpswede bei Bremen auf. Unter dem Pseudonym Ulrich Steffen veröffentlichte sie expressionistische Literatur. 1920 war sie Redakteurin des Rowohlt Verlags in Berlin. Im folgenden Jahr heiratete sie den späteren Bauhausmeister László Moholy-Nagy. Zwischen 1922 und 1923 arbeiteten beide gemeinsam auf dem Gebiet der experimentellen Fotografie.

Nach der Berufung ihres Mannes 1923 an das Bauhaus Weimar begann sie in einem dortigen Fotoatelier eine Lehre und fotografierte gleichzeitig für Publikationen Werkstattarbeiten des Bauhauses. Von 1923 bis1925 war sie als Fotografin freie Mitarbeiterin am Bauhaus in Weimar, von 1925 bis 1928 in derselben Funktion am Bauhaus in Dessau. Zwischen 1925 und 1926 studierte sie Foto- und Drucktechnik an der Akademie für grafische Künste und Buchgewerbe in Leipzig. Zu ihren bedeutenden Arbeiten aus dieser Zeit zählen eine große Bildserie vom Neubau des Bauhauses und der Meisterhäuser in Dessau für die Presse und die Bauhausbücher, die ihr den Rang einer authentischen Dokumentaristin des Bauhauses vor 1928 verliehen. Gleichzeitig entstanden Sachfotografien der Werkstattarbeiten und Porträtserien von Bauhaus-Lehrern und Freunden.

Nach dem Weggang vom Bauhaus 1928 arbeitete sie mit der Fotoagentur Mauritius zusammen und war 1929 auf der Werkbundausstellung „Film und Foto“ in Stuttgart vertreten. Im selben Jahr trennte sie sich von ihrem Mann. Als Nachfolgerin von Otto Umbehr (Umbo) wurde sie als Fachlehrerin für Fotografie an die Itten-Schule in Berlin engagiert. 1933 emigrierte sie über Prag, Wien und Paris nach London und arbeitete dort als Porträtfotografin und Autorin. In den folgenden Jahren leitete sie die Verfilmung zahlreicher bedeutender Archive und Projekte der UNESCO in Ländern des Nahen und Mittleren Ostens. Nachdem sie 1959 in die Schweiz übersiedelte, konzentrierte sie sich auf eine publizistische Tätigkeit in Kunstkritik und -pädagogik und war mit ihrem fotografischen Werk an zahlreichen Ausstellungen beteiligt.

Literatur:
Fiedler, Jeannine (1990): Fotografie am Bauhaus, Berlin; Guttenberger, Anja für das Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin (2015): bauhaus.foto / bauhaus.photo, Berlin; Hartmann, Sabine (1995): Lucia Moholy − Bauhaus-Fotografin, in: Museums Journal, H. 2, Berlin; Sachsse, Rolf (1995): Lucia Moholy. Bauhaus-Fotografin, Berlin; Schöbe, Lutz (2004): Bauhaus. Fotografie aus der Sammlung der Stiftung Bauhaus Dessau, Florenz; Valdivieso, Mercedes: Eine 'symbiotische Arbeitsgemeinschaft' und die Folgen - Lucia und László Moholy-Nagy, in: Berger, R. (2000): Liebe Macht Kunst. Künstlerpaare im 20. Jahrhundert, Köln/Weimar/Wien, S. 65-85.