Johannes Itten

Paul Stockmar, Portrait of Johannes Itten, no date
Kunstmuseum Bern, Itten-Stiftung

Paul Stockmar, Portrait of Johannes Itten, no date
Kunstmuseum Bern, Itten-Stiftung

Between 1904 and 1906, Johannes Itten attended a teaching course in Hofwil near Bern. He worked as a primary school teacher from 1908 to 1909. That same year, he registered at the École des Beaux-Arts in Geneva and studied there until 1910. Until 1912, Itten completed another degree in natural science and mathematics at the University of Bern and received his diploma as a secondary school teacher. In the following two years, he studied at the Stuttgart Academy and became a member of Adolf Hölzel’s master students’ studio. In 1916, a first solo exhibition dedicated to Itten’s work was organised by Herwarth Walden at his gallery Der Sturm in Berlin. That same year, Itten relocated to Vienna and opened a private art school there.

In October 1919, Itten was appointed as one of the first masters at the Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar by Walter Gropius. Until 1922/23, he was both director of the preliminary course which he had developed independently for the introductory semester and master of form of all the workshops except for the ceramic, bookbinding and printing workshops. Itten made a significant contribution to the Bauhaus by promoting the Mazdaznan cult, which spans religions and philosophies. After internal differences with Walter Gropius, Itten left the Bauhaus in March 1923.

Itten joined the international Mazdaznan temple community in Herrliberg on Lake Zurich. In 1926, he founded his own modern art school in Berlin. He was appointed to direct the newly established Höhere Fachschule für Textile Flächenkunst (advanced school of textile art) in Krefeld in 1932. In 1934, the Itten school in Berlin was closed by the NSDAP. In 1937, Itten’s work was displayed at the exhibition Entartete Kunst (degenerate art) in Munich. In the following year, he was dismissed from his post at the academy in Krefeld. Itten then moved to the Netherlands. In 1938, he became the director of the Kunstgewerbeschule (school of applied arts) and the Kunstgewerbemuseum (museum of applied arts) in Zurich. In 1943, he also became director of the Textilfachschule (textiles school) in Zurich. In 1949, he was commissioned to design the Rietberg Museum for non-European art in Zurich. He was invited to join the Ulm School of Design (HfG) by Max Bill in 1955. A number of large retrospectives of his work were held at, among others, at the Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam in 1957 and at the Kunsthaus Zürich in 1964.

Literature:
Bothe, Rolf / Hahn, Petr / von Tavel, Hans Christoph (Hg.): Das frühe Bauhaus und Johannes Itten, Ostfildern-Ruit 1994;
Uthemann, Ernst W. (Hg.): Johannes Itten 1888-1967, Ostfildern-Ruit 2003.

Johannes Itten

Paul Stockmar, Portrait Johannes Itten im Malkittel mit Goldenem-Schnitt-Zirkel und Farbstern
Kunstmuseum Bern, Itten-Stiftung

Paul Stockmar, Portrait Johannes Itten im Malkittel mit Goldenem-Schnitt-Zirkel und Farbstern
Kunstmuseum Bern, Itten-Stiftung

Johannes Itten besuchte zwischen 1904 und 1906 ein Lehrerseminar in Hofwil bei Bern. Von 1908 bis 1909 arbeitete er als Volksschullehrer. Im selben Jahr schrieb er sich an der École des Beaux-Arts in Genf ein und studierte dort bis 1910. Bis 1912 absolvierte Itten ein weiteres naturwissenschaftlich-mathematisches Studium an der Universität Bern und erhielt im selben Jahr seinen Abschluss als Sekundarlehrer. In den folgenden zwei Jahren studierte er an der Stuttgarter Akademie und wurde dort Mitglied im Meisterschüleratelier Adolf Hölzels. 1916 organisierte Herwarth Walden in seiner Berliner Galerie Der Sturm eine erste Einzelausstellung zum Werk Ittens. Im gleichen Jahr siedelte Itten nach Wien über und eröffnete dort eine private Kunstschule.

Im Oktober 1919 wurde Itten als einer der ersten Meister durch Walter Gropius an das Staatliche Bauhaus in Weimar berufen. Bis 1922/23 war er der Leiter des Vorkurses, den er selbst als Einführungssemester entwickelt hatte, und Formmeister aller Werkstätten außer der Keramischen Werkstatt, der Buchbinderei und der Druckerei. Itten trug am Bauhaus sehr zur Verbreitung der religions- und philosophieübergreifenden Weltanschauung Mazdaznan (Meister des Gottesgedankens) bei. Nach internen Differenzen mit Walter Gropius verließ er im März 1923 das Bauhaus.

Itten trat in die internationale Mazdaznan-Tempelgemeinschaft in Herrliberg am Zürichsee ein. 1926 gründete er seine eigene Moderne Kunstschule Berlin. 1932 wurde ihm die Leitung der neu gegründeten Höheren Fachschule für textile Flächenkunst in Krefeld übertragen. 1934 schloss das NS-Regime die Itten-Schule in Berlin. Kunstwerke von Itten wurden 1937 auf der Ausstellung „Entartete Kunst“ in München gezeigt. Im folgenden Jahr kündigte ihm die Krefelder Höhere Fachschule für textile Flächenkunst. Itten ging zunächst nach Holland und übernahm 1938 die Leitung der Kunstgewerbeschule und des Kunstgewerbemuseums in Zürich. 1943 leitete er zudem die Textilfachschule in Zürich. 1949 erhielt er den Auftrag zum Aufbau des Rietberg-Museums für außereuropäische Kunst in Zürich. An die Hochschule für Gestaltung (HFG) in Ulm wurde er 1955 von Max Bill eingeladen. Mehrere große Retrospektiven zu seinem Werk fanden u. a. 1957 im Stedelijk Museum in Amsterdam und 1964 im Kunsthaus Zürich statt.

Literatur
Salmen, Brigitte (Hg.): Bauhaus-Ideen − Um Itten, Feininger, Klee, Kandinsky: Vom Expressiven zum Konstruktiven, Murnau: Schlossmuseum, 2007;
Wagner, Christoph (Hg.): Das Bauhaus und die Esoterik: Johannes Itten, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Bielefeld: Kerber, 2005;
Uthemann, Ernest W.: Johannes Itten. Alles in Einem − alles im Sein, Ostfildern: Hatje Cantz 2003;
Bothe, Rolf; Hahn, Petr; Tavel, Hans Christoph von (Hg.): Das frühe Bauhaus und Johannes Itten, Ostfildern-Ruit 1994.