Adolf Meyer

Unknown photographer, Portrait of Adolf Meyer, 1929
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Unknown photographer, Portrait of Adolf Meyer, 1929
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Between 1895 and 1897, Adolf Meyer completed a two-year apprenticeship with a cabinetmaker in Mechernich in the Eifel region. He also received instruction in drawing. He then worked in furniture workshops in Cologne, Krefeld and Düsseldorf until 1901. From 1903, he attended the Kunstgewerbeschule (school of applied arts) in Cologne. From 1904, he studied at the Kunstgewerbeschule in Düsseldorf under Peter Behrens and Johannes Ludovicus Mattheus Lauweriks. In 1907, Behrens hired his former student to work in his studio in Berlin. Between 1909 and 1910, Meyer worked for Bruno Paul. The same year, Walter Gropius hired him as the office manager at his studio in Neubabelsberg. This collaboration, which lasted until 1914, resulted in a number of important 20th century buildings, such as the Fagus-Werk Karl Benscheidt in Alfeld an der Leine of 1910 and an office building and factory for the Deutscher Werkbund (German Work Federation) exhibition in Cologne in1914. When Gropius’s practice closed down, Meyer became office manager for the steel construction company Breest & Co. in Berlin.

In 1919, Walter Gropius brought Adolf Meyer to the Staatliches Bauhaus Weimar as an assistant for the architecture department. Here, he directed Gropius’s private architecture office and taught technical drawing and construction from 1920 to 1925. Together with Walter March, he was the site manager for the Haus Am Horn project. In 1924, he was responsible for the compilation and typographic development of the book Ein Versuchshaus (a prototype house), published by the Bauhaus Weimar as the third volume in the series of Bauhaus Books.

After the closure of the Bauhaus Weimar on 1st April 1925, Meyer stayed on in Weimar as a freelance architect. In 1926, he was represented in the exhibition Neue Baukunst (new architecture) held by the Kunstverein Jena (Jena art association). He also designed a number of buildings. These include the Gildehall housing estate in Neuruppin in 1925/26 and the Zeiss Planetarium in Jena in 1925. On the recommendation of Walter Gropius, Meyer was appointed to the Board of Public Works in Frankfurt am Main in 1926 and was head of construction consulting in its building department. At the same time, he was head of structural engineering at the Frankfurter Kunstschule (art academy). During his period in office, the city built the coking plant at Gaswerk Ost (gasworks east) in 1927 and the Prüfamt (testing office) in 1929 as well as the workshops, depot and warehouse for the municipal electricity works.

Literature:
Jaeggi, Annemarie: Adolf Meyer. Der zweite Mann: Ein Architekt im Schatten von Walter Gropius, hg. v. Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin / Museum für Gestaltung, Ausstellungskatalog, Berlin: Argon-Verlag, 1994.

Adolf Meyer

Unbekannter Fotograf, Portrait Adolf Meyer, 1929
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Unbekannter Fotograf, Portrait Adolf Meyer, 1929
Bauhaus-Archiv Berlin

Zwischen 1895 und 1897 absolvierte Adolf Meyer eine zweijährige Lehre bei einem Kunsttischler in Mechernich in der Eifel. Zudem erhielt er Zeichenunterricht. Danach war er bis 1901 in Möbelwerkstätten in Köln, Krefeld und Düsseldorf tätig. Ab 1903 besuchte er die Kunstgewerbeschule in Köln und ab 1904 die Kunstgewerbeschule in Düsseldorf. Dort studierte er bei Peter Behrens und Johannes Ludovicus Mattheus Lauweriks. 1907 stellte Behrens den ehemaligen Schüler in seinem Berliner Atelier ein. Zwischen 1909 und 1910 wurde Meyer Mitarbeiter von Bruno Paul. Im selben Jahr noch engagierte ihn Walter Gropius als Bürochef in seinem Atelier in Neubabelsberg. Resultat dieser bis 1914 dauernden Kooperation sind einige für die Architektur des 20. Jahrhunderts bedeutende Gebäude: das Fagus-Werk Karl Benscheidt in Alfeld (Leine) von 1910 und das Bürogebäude und die Fabrik der Kölner Werkbundausstellung 1914. Nach der Auflösung des Gropius-Büros wurde Meyer Bürochef bei der Stahlbaufirma Breest & Co. in Berlin.

1919 holte Walter Gropius Adolf Meyer als Assistent für die Architekturabteilung an das Staatliche Bauhaus Weimar. Dort leitete er das private Bauatelier von Walter Gropius und arbeitete außerdem von 1920 bis 1925 als Lehrer für Werkzeichnen und Konstruktion. Zusammen mit Walter March übernahm er die Bauleitung für die Errichtung des „Haus Am Horn”. 1924 oblagen ihm die Zusammenstellung und die typografische Bearbeitung des Buches „Ein Versuchshaus“ des Bauhauses in Weimar als dritten Band der Reihe der Bauhausbücher.

Nach der Schließung des Weimarer Bauhauses zum 1.4.1925 arbeitete Meyer als freier Architekt in Weimar. 1926 war er in der Ausstellung „Neue Baukunst“ im Kunstverein Jena vertreten. Zudem entwarf er verschiedene Bauten. Dazu zählten u. a. die Siedlungshäuser für Gildenhall in Neuruppin 1925/26 sowie das Zeiss-Planetarium in Jena 1925. Auf Vermittlung von Walter Gropius wurde Meyer 1926 zum städtischen Baurat in Frankfurt am Main ernannt und leitete die Bauberatung am dortigen Städtischen Hochbauamt. Zugleich leitete er die Klasse für Hochbau an der Frankfurter Kunstschule. In dieser Zeit entstanden für die Stadt Bauten wie 1927 die Kokerei im Gaswerk Ost und 1929 das Prüfamt, sowie Werkstätten, Magazin und Lager für das Städtische Elektrizitätswerk.

Literatur:
Jaeggi, Annemarie (1994): Adolf Meyer. Der zweite Mann: Ein Architekt im Schatten von Walter Gropius, Berlin.