Weaving

The weaving workshop was one of the most successful workshops at the Bauhaus. It was primarily attended by women. Here, they experimented with both traditional and industrialised weaving techniques. The colour and formal vocabulary was strongly influenced by Paul Klee’s theories. The Bauhaus fabrics were produced as yard goods, and new types of synthetic fibres were developed for upholstery fabrics.

The weaving workshop opened its doors in 1919 under its master of form, Johannes Itten. Until 1925, the craftsmanship aspects of the workshop were taught by the master of works, Helene Börner. In 1920, the women-only textile class was merged with the weaving workshop. In addition to weaving, the female students learned other textile techniques such as crochet, macramé, spinning, embroidery, appliqué and painting and spraying techniques.

From 1921 to 1927, Georg Muche was the head of the weaving workshop. Muche ensured that goods were produced in bulk, thus increase the workshop’s overall profitability. He also turned away from the traditional weaving loom and moved towards industrial weaving techniques. This led to the production of the so-called Bauhaus fabrics.

Female students such as Gunta Stölzl, who later became the head of the weaving workshop, taught themselves many technical and practical skills such as dyeing. In terms of form, the female students oriented themselves on the lessons of Johannes Itten, Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky, transferring their concepts of colour and form to the weaving loom.

The mass production of suitable decorative fabrics, wall coverings and upholstery fabrics for modern interior designs such as that of the Sommerfeld House or the prototype Haus am Horn were manufactured in the weaving workshop. The development of fabrics that were economical to produce as well as those made of synthetic fibres was intensified in Dessau under the second Bauhaus director, Hannes Meyer. The interior designer Lilly Reich succeeded Gunta Stölzl after the latter’s departure in 1931. The weaving workshop was one of the most productive and successful workshops at the Bauhaus.

Weberei

Die Weberei war eine der erfolgreichsten und produktivsten Werkstätten am Bauhaus. Sie wurde vor allem von Frauen besucht. In experimenteller Weise erprobte man sowohl traditionelle handwerkliche als auch industrielle Webtechniken. In der Farb- und Formensprache orientierten sich die Schülerinnen stark am Unterricht von Paul Klee. Die Bauhaus-Stoffe wurden als Meterware hergestellt, neuartige Kunstfasern zur Möbelbespannung entwickelt.

Die Weberei nahm unter ihrem Formmeister Johannes Itten 1919 ihre Arbeit auf. Handwerklich führte die Werkmeisterin Helene Börner die Werkstatt bis 1925. Eine am Bauhaus eigens für Frauen eingerichtete Textilklasse wurde 1920 mit der Weberei verschmolzen. Neben dem Weben lernten die Schülerinnen auch andere Textiltechniken wie Häkeln, Knüpfen, Kurbeln, Sticken, Applizieren sowie Mal- und Spritztechniken.

Von 1921 bis 1927 stand Georg Muche der Weberei vor. Muche ließ in der Weberei Meterware herstellen, um die Wirtschaftlichkeit der Werkstätte zu erhöhen. Vom traditionellen Handwerk am Webstuhl wandte er sich auch der industriellen Webtechnik zu. Das führte zur Produktion der sogenannten Bauhaus-Stoffe.

Viele technisch-praktische Fertigkeiten, wie z. B. das Färben, eigneten sich Schülerinnen wie Gunta Stölzl, die später als Leiterin der Weberei vorstand, selbst an. Formal orientierten sich die Schülerinnen am Unterricht von Johannes Itten, Paul Klee und Wassily Kandinsky. Sie übertrugen das Vokabular der Farb- und Formenlehren auf den Webstuhl.

In der Weberei wurden für die serielle Produktion geeignete Dekorationsstoffe, Wandbespannungen und Möbelbezugsstoffe für moderne Inneneinrichtungen wie die des Hauses Sommerfeld oder des Musterhauses am Horn hergestellt. Die Entwicklung von kostengünstig produzierbaren, auch aus Kunstfasern hergestellten Stoffen wurde unter dem zweiten Bauhausdirektor Hannes Meyer in Dessau intensiviert. Nach dem Weggang von Gunta Stölzl 1931 trat die Innenarchitektin Lilly Reich die Nachfolge an.