Ceramics Workshop

The Bauhaus’s ceramics workshop started out in Dornburg at the workshop of the master potter Max Krehan. Here, ceramic vessels, some of them experimental, were made in collaboration with the sculptor and master of form, Gerhard Marcks. In 1923, the pottery workshop made a technological leap by moving from the potter’s wheel to ceramic casting. This is also where prototypes for serial production were made. The ceramics workshop was not continued in Dessau.

As one of the first workshops at the Bauhaus, the ceramics workshop was opened as early as 1919 at a Weimar furnace factory. In 1920, the workshop moved to Dornburg, Saale. This was just 20 kilometres away and offered enough space for student accommodation as well as the workshop. Until 1925, Gerhard Marcks was head of the workshop. The renowned master potter Max Krehan was the master of works from 1920 to 1925.

Initially, the workshop only produced simple ceramics for everyday use with the plain glazes typical of the Bauhaus. Due to Walter Gropius’s orientation towards technology and the new goal of creating models for industrial mass production, the workshop was divided into an apprentice workshop for training and an experimental and production workshop. Prototypes for industrial production included Theodor Bogler‘s Mocha Machine, which was made using a casting process, and his combination teapot, which was based on the modular design principle. The workshop maintained contacts with several earthenware and porcelain factories, presenting its products at trade fairs and at the Stuttgart exhibition of the Werkbund (German Work Federation) of 1924.

The ceramics workshop did not survive the move to the Bauhaus Dessau. Otto Lindig, the former head of the production workshop, continued a part of the ceramics workshop at the Staatliche Bauhochschule (state school for architecture) in Weimar.

Keramikwerkstatt

Die Töpferei des Bauhauses begann ihre Arbeit in der Dornburger Werkstatt des Töpfermeisters Max Krehan. In Zusammenarbeit mit dem Bildhauer und Formmeister Gerhard Marcks entstand zum Teil experimentelle Gefäßkeramik. 1923 vollzog die Töpferei den Technologiesprung von der Töpferscheibe zur Gusskeramik. Hier entstanden Prototypen zur seriellen Produktion. Die Werkstatt für Keramik wurde in Dessau nicht weitergeführt.

Die Werkstatt für Keramik wurde als eine der ersten Werkstätten am Bauhaus schon 1919 in einer Weimarer Ofenfabrik eröffnet. 1920 siedelte die Werkstatt in das 20 Kilometer entfernte Dornburg an der Saale über, wo es geeignete Räume für die Werkstatt und die Unterbringung der Studenten gab. Geleitet wurde sie bis 1925 vom Bildhauer und Formmeister Gerhard Marcks. Werkmeister war von 1920 bis 1925 der namhafte Töpfermeister Max Krehan.

Zunächst wurde einfache Gebrauchskeramik mit für das Bauhaus typischen schlichten Glasuren hergestellt. Durch die Hinwendung von Walter Gropius zur Technik und dem neuen Ziel, Vorlagen für die serielle Industrieproduktion zu schaffen, wurde die Werkstatt in eine Lehrlings-Werkstatt zur Ausbildung und eine Versuchs- und Produktivwerkstatt aufgeteilt. Ein Prototyp zur industriellen Herstellung war Theodor Boglers unter Anwendung des Gießverfahrens entstandene Mokka-Maschine sowie seine nach dem Baukastenprinzip zusammengefügte Kombinationsteekanne. Die Werkstatt unterhielt Kontakte zu mehreren Steingut- und Porzellan-Fabriken und präsentierte ihre Produkte auf Messen und 1924 auf der Stuttgarter Werkbund-Ausstellung.

Am Dessauer Bauhaus bestand die Keramik-Werkstatt nicht weiter. Otto Lindig, der ehemalige Leiter der Produktivwerkstatt, führte einen Teil der Keramik-Werkstatt an der Staatlichen Bauhochschule Weimar fort.