Graphic Printing Workshop

Under the master of form Lyonel Feininger, the graphic printing workshop of the Staatliches Bauhaus in Weimar produced significant portfolios of graphic works by the Bauhaus masters. The portfolios were bound in the bookbinding workshop. Since the art printing business did not prove to be a financial success, the printing workshop was not set up at the Bauhaus Dessau.

The graphic printing workshop began its work in 1919. To this end, it acquired technical equipment from the former Hochschule für bildende Künste (school of art) in Weimar. Walter Klemm, a graphic designer and teacher at this school, was head of the printing workshop as master of form until he was replaced in 1921 by the painter and Bauhaus master Lyonel Feininger. With the support of Walter Gropius, Feininger promoted the printing of graphic works by students and masters of the Bauhaus. Significant portfolios of graphic art by the Bauhaus masters were created, including Zwölf Holzschnitte by Feininger, the Ypsilon series of etchings by Georg Muche, the Kleine Welten (Small Worlds) portfolio by Wassily Kandinsky and the Meistermappe des Staatlichen Bauhauses (master portfolio of the Bauhaus). The five-part portfolio Neue Europäische Grafik (new European graphics) with prints by international avant-garde artists was published between 1921 and 1924.

The bindings for the portfolios were produced in the bookbinding workshop, which collaborated with the printing workshop. The portfolios did not sell as well as expected for the printing workshop of the Bauhaus, and a graphics printing shop was not set up at the Bauhaus Dessau.

Graphische Druckerei

Die Graphische Druckerei des Staatlichen Bauhauses Weimar stellte unter ihrem Formmeister Lyonel Feininger bedeutende Mappen mit grafischen Werken der Bauhaus-Meister her. Die Buchbinderei lieferte die Einbände dazu. Da sich ein wirtschaftlicher Erfolg dieser Kunstdruckerei nicht einstellte, wurde die Druckerei mit dem Umzug nach Dessau aufgelöst.

Die Graphische Druckerei nahm im Gründungsjahr 1919 ihre Arbeit auf. Die technische Ausrüstung übernahm sie von der ehemaligen Weimarer Hochschule für Bildende Künste. Der Grafiker und Lehrer dieser Schule, Walther Klemm, leitete die Druckerei als Formmeister, bis er 1921 vom Maler und Bauhaus-Meister Lyonel Feininger abgelöst wurde. Mit der Unterstützung von Walter Gropius forcierte Feininger den Druck grafischer Arbeiten von Schülern und Meistern des Bauhauses. Bedeutende Mappen entstanden, darunter die „Zwölf Holzschnitte“ von Feininger, der Radier-Zyklus „Ypsilon“ von Georg Muche, die Mappe „Kleine Welten“ von Wassily Kandinsky und die „Meistermappe des Staatlichen Bauhauses“. Zwischen 1921 und 1924 entstand das fünfteilige Mappenwerk „Neue Europäische Graphik“ mit Drucken internationaler Künstler der Avantgarde.

Die Einbände zu den Mappen wurden von der Buchbinderei hergestellt, die mit der Druckerei zusammenarbeitete. Finanziell brachte der Verkauf der Grafiken für die Druckerei des Bauhauses nicht die erhofften Resultate. Am Bauhaus Dessau wurde auf die Einrichtung einer Graphischen Druckerei verzichtet.