Workshops

During the Weimar period, the workshops were led by a craftsman as a master of works and an artist as a master of form. The intention was to absorb the arts into the crafts, but the artists had a greater representation in the masters’ council and this resulted in an imbalance. After the orientation towards the new unity of art and technology in 1923, education at the Bauhaus increased its emphasis on mass production. This pushed the aspect of artisanship into the background.

The practical work in the workshops was at the heart of education at the Bauhaus. In keeping with the guilds, the titles apprentice, journeyman and master were used at the Bauhaus during the Weimar period. The students usually took their journeyman examination after three semesters. This was the requirement for them to start the building apprenticeship and receive the master craftsman certification. Throughout the Weimar period, the individual workshops adopted a dual approach: each master of form as the artist responsible for design and aesthetic aspects was supported by a master of works, a craftsman who imparted the technical skills and abilities related to the craft. Technical craftsmanship was understood as the ideal unity of artistic design and material production.

In the initial period, the painter and art teacher Johannes Itten – who was concerned with the education of the artist based on his or her own individual attributes – headed almost all of the workshops as a master of form. In 1922, Walter Gropius successfully asserted his concept in the sense of an orientation towards industry. László Moholy-Nagy was appointed as the new head of the metal workshop.

With Lyonel Feininger, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Georg Muche and Oskar Schlemmer , almost all of the masters participated in the move to Dessau. Former students took over the management of the workshops as junior masters. Josef Albers became head of one department of the preliminary course, Herbert Bayer became head of the printing and advertising workshop, Marcel Breuer head of the carpentry workshop, Hinnerk Scheper head of the wall painting workshop, Joost Schmidt head of the sculpture workshop and Gunta Stölzl head of the weaving workshop. In 1925, the company Bauhaus GmbH was founded to market the products.

With the move of the workshops to the new Bauhaus Building in Dessau, the masters became professors and all the graduates received a Bauhaus diploma. In the statutes, the secondary goal (after education) was “the performance of practical experimental work, especially for house construction and furnishings, as well as the development of prototypes for industry and the crafts”. All of the workshops were more intensively aligned to cooperation with industry. Furniture and other everyday utility objects were designed as products that could be made on the production line, so that it became possible for broader groups of buyers to acquire high quality and reasonably priced goods.

Above all, this was emphasised by the guiding principle of the second Bauhaus director, Hannes Meyer, who targeted the “needs of the people instead of the need for luxury”. The Bauhaus established workshops such as the advertising department, which was part of the photography workshop under Walter Peterhans. In the wall painting workshop, the Bauhaus created its most commercially successful product, the Bauhaus wallpapers. The third Bauhaus director, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, reduced the established structure and role of the workshops by orienting them towards an architecture that used contemporary construction methods and materials.

Werkstätten

In der Weimarer Zeit leiteten ein handwerklicher Werkmeister und ein künstlerischer Formmeister die Werkstätten. Die Kunst sollte im Handwerk aufgehen, dennoch waren im Meisterrat Künstler stärker vertreten, wodurch es zu einem Ungleichgewicht kam. Seit der Hinwendung zur neuen Einheit aus Kunst und Technik 1923 wurde am Bauhaus verstärkt im Hinblick auf die serielle Massenproduktion ausgebildet, der kunsthandwerkliche Aspekt trat in den Hintergrund.

Die praktische Arbeit in den Werkstätten war das Herzstück der Ausbildung am Bauhaus. Zunftgemäß nannte man sich am Bauhaus der Weimarer Zeit Lehrling, Geselle und Meister. In der Regel legten die Studierenden nach drei Semestern ihre Gesellenprüfung ab. Erst danach war ein Einstieg in die Baulehre und als Abschluss der Meisterbrief vorgesehen. In der gesamten Weimarer Zeit war die Leitung der einzelnen Werkstätten dualistisch strukturiert. Jedem Formmeister als dem für die gestalterisch-ästhetischen Aspekte verantwortlichen Künstler stand ein Werkmeister als ein handwerklich-technische Fähigkeiten und Fertigkeiten vermittelnder Handwerker zur Seite. Die handwerkliche Arbeit begriff man als ideale Einheit von künstlerischer Gestaltung und materieller Produktion.

In der ersten Zeit leitete der Maler und Kunstpädagoge Johannes Itten, dem es um die Ausbildung eines aus seinen individuellen Besonderheiten heraus schaffenden Künstlers ging, als Formmeister fast alle Werkstätten. Im Verlaufe des Jahres 1922 gelang es Walter Gropius, seine Vorstellungen im Sinne einer Hinwendung zur Industrie durchzusetzen. Als neuer Leiter der Metallwerkstatt wurde László Moholy-Nagy berufen.

Den Umzug nach Dessau vollzogen mit Lyonel Feininger, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Georg Muche und Oskar Schlemmer fast alle Meister. Ehemalige Studierende übernahmen als Jungmeister die Leitung von Werkstätten: Josef Albers führte einen Teil des Vorkurses, Herbert Bayer leitete die Druck- und Reklamewerkstatt, Marcel Breuer die Tischlerei, Hinnerk Scheper die Werkstatt für Wandmalerei, Joost Schmidt die Plastische Werkstatt und Gunta Stölzl die Weberei. 1925 gründete man zur Verwertung der am Bauhaus entwickelten Produkte die Bauhaus GmbH.

Mit dem Einzug der Werkstätten in das neue Dessauer Bauhausgebäude wurden die Meister zu Professoren, die Absolventen erhielten von nun an ein Bauhaus-Diplom. In den Satzungen stand nach der Ausbildung als zweites Ziel „die Durchführung praktischer Versuchsarbeit, besonders für Hausbau und Hauseinrichtung, sowie die Entwicklung von Modelltypen für Industrie und Handwerk“. Alle Werkstätten richteten sich stärker auf die Zusammenarbeit mit der Industrie aus. Möbel und andere Gebrauchsgegenstände konzipierte man als seriell herstellbare Produkte, um breiten Käuferschichten den Erwerb qualitätsvoller und preisgünstiger Waren zu ermöglichen.

Das betonte vor allem der Leitgedanke des zweiten Bauhausdirektors Hannes Meyer „Volksbedarf statt Luxusbedarf“. Neue Werkstätten, wie die zur Reklame-Abteilung gehörende Fotografiewerkstatt unter Walter Peterhans, wurden gegründet. In der Wandmalereiwerkstatt entstand mit den Bauhaustapeten das kommerziell erfolgreichste Produkt des Bauhauses. Der dritte Bauhausdirektor Ludwig Mies van der Rohe reduzierte die Werkstattarbeit in ihrer bisherigen Form und Bedeutung, indem er sie auf eine zeitgemäße, Konstruktionen und Materialien nutzende Baukunst ausrichtete.