Preliminary Course by László Moholy-Nagy

 

In 1923, after the departure of Johannes Itten, Walter Gropius commissioned the Hungarian universal artist László Moholy-Nagy to continue the preliminary course. Moholy-Nagy, who was also head of the metal workshop, shifted the focus from artistic to technical issues. He wanted to replace romanticism and a sensibility for nature with rationality.

In 1923, the Hungarian Constructivist László Moholy-Nagy joined the Bauhaus Weimar as the youngest master of form, supporting Walter Gropius in his orientation towards the new unity of art and technology. Moholy-Nagy, whose reputation was established by an exhibition at the gallery Der Sturm in Berlin, advocated the idea of the artist-engineer. He was suspicious of anything esoteric or romantic.

As the head of the metal workshop, he promoted modern lighting design and the development of prototypes and therefore the transition from manual craftsmanship to industrial technologies. As the co-organiser and graphic designer of the Bauhaus books from 1924 and the Bauhaus magazine from 1926, Moholy-Nagy had a decisive influence on the international network and image of the Bauhaus.

His universal oeuvre ranged from light, lighting design, photography, photograms and film to kinetic-constructive systems and the Light-Space Modulator. In his opinion, the traditional panel painting was no longer contemporary.

Moholy-Nagy adopted Itten’s teaching method in the preliminary course by asking students to carry out independent studies of material. He did not want to promote the pure individuality of his students, but to systematically introduce them, through a synthesis of the senses, to the technical foundations of statics, dynamics and equilibrium. Moholy-Nagy’s lessons on the surface, or the plane, focused on the medium of collage.

Vorkurs László Moholy-Nagy

Nach dem Weggang Johannes Ittens beauftragte Walter Gropius 1923 den ungarischen Universalkünstler László Moholy-Nagy mit der Fortführung des Vorkurses. Moholy-Nagy, der auch die Metall-Werkstatt leitete, verlegte den Schwerpunkt von künstlerischen auf technische Fragen. Romantik und Naturgefühl wollte er durch Rationalität ersetzen.

Der Konstruktivist László Moholy-Nagy kam 1923 als jüngster Formmeister an das Weimarer Bauhaus und unterstützte Walter Gropius in seiner Hinwendung zur neuen Einheit von Kunst und Technik. Moholy-Nagy, der durch eine Ausstellung in der Berliner Galerie Der Sturm bekannt geworden war, vertrat die Idee des Künstler-Ingenieurs. Alles Esoterische und Romantische war ihm suspekt.

Als Leiter der Metallwerkstatt förderte er eine moderne Lichtgestaltung sowie die Entwicklung von Prototypen und damit den Übergang von handwerklichen Techniken zu Industrietechnologien.

Als Mitorganisator und Grafikdesigner der „bauhausbücher“ ab 1924 und der Zeitschrift „bauhaus“ ab 1926 prägte Moholy-Nagy wesentlich das internationale Netzwerk und das Erscheinungsbild des Bauhauses.

Licht, Lichtgestaltung, Fotografie/Fotogramm und Film bis hin zu kinetisch-konstruktiven Systemen und einem Licht-Raum-Modulator bestimmten sein universelles Schaffen. Das traditionelle Tafelbild hielt er für nicht mehr zeitgemäß.

Moholy-Nagy übernahm im Vorkurs die Pädagogik Ittens, indem er die Schüler selbstständig Materialübungen durchführen ließ. Doch wollte er nicht die reine Individualität seiner Schüler fördern, sondern sie systematisch in einer Synthese der Sinne an die Vermittlung technischer Grundlagen wie Statik, Dynamik und Gleichgewicht heranführen. Zu Übungen mit der Fläche ließ Moholy-Nagy seine Schüler vor allem mit Collagen arbeiten.