Classes by Wassily Kandinsky

In the summer of 1922, the Russian painter Wassily Kandinsky was appointed to the Bauhaus. He remained a member of the teaching staff until 1933. Kandinsky was head of the wall painting workshop in Weimar until 1925. This is where he taught form theory – which included an expansive colour theory – within the scope of the preliminary course. His elementary classes in Dessau included analytical drawing, abstract form elements and the colours seminar. Together with Paul Klee, he headed the newly established free painting classes from 1927.

Kandinsky was one of the most influential Bauhaus masters. After Johannes Itten’s departure, he served as the assistant Bauhaus director until 1933. Due to his distinctive form and colour theory, his lessons at the Bauhaus were especially significant. Kandinsky‘s colour seminar was part of the introduction to the “abstract form elements” class and even influenced the Bauhaus through the activities of the workshops and the architecture department. The relationship of colour to form was of central significance to Kandinsky’s thinking. The Bauhaus’s characteristic assignment of the three primary colours red, yellow and blue to the square, triangle and circle was based on a survey that Kandinsky carried out at the Bauhaus Weimar. The majority of the respondents agreed with his line of reasoning. However, there were also critics, such as Oskar Schlemmer. This supposedly empirically supported colour-form classification system, which quickly became a trademark of the Bauhaus, is still popular today.

Kandinsky‘s colour theory by no means followed purely scientific considerations, even though he was familiar with many approaches that did, including those of the chemist and Nobel Prize winner Wilhelm Ostwald. Instead, the findings that he presented as scientific were acquired through introspection. He led his students through various classification systems, but demonstrated their relativity at the same time. He had already developed his own theory of colour in his early essay Concerning the Spiritual in Art (1911), where he, inspired by Goethe’s observations on the psychology of colours, set down a colour theory based on synaesthetics.

In his class on analytical drawing, Kandinsky called for the rational interaction of the artistic principles of design. His method of teaching art centred on the sensitisation of perception and the constructive organisation of the picture. He formulated this in 1928 in the Bauhaus magazine as “teaching the clear observation and clear reproduction of relationships”.

Under the directorship of Hannes Meyer, Kandinsky also taught the theoretical course on creative design for the higher semesters. This involved examining the relationships between art, architecture and technology. Because he had such an extraordinary reputation as an artist and theoretician, many renowned artists such as Max Bill attended Kandinsky’s free painting classes at the Bauhaus Dessau.

Unterricht Wassily Kandinsky

Im Sommer 1922 wurde der russische Maler Wassily Kandinsky an das Bauhaus berufen. Er gehörte dem Lehrkörper bis 1933 an. In Weimar leitete Kandinsky bis 1925 die Werkstatt für Wandmalerei. Ferner unterrichtete er dort im Rahmen des Vorkurses die Formenlehre, zu der eine umfangreiche Farbenlehre gehörte. Bestandteile seines Elementarunterrichts in Dessau waren das „Analytische Zeichnen“, der Kurs „Abstrakte Formelemente“ und das „Farbenseminar“. Ab 1927 leitete er neben Paul Klee die neu eingerichtete freie Malklasse.

Kandinsky war einer der wirkungsmächtigsten Bauhaus-Meister und seit dem Weggang Johannes Ittens stellvertretender Bauhaus-Direktor bis 1933. Seinem Unterricht am Bauhaus kam aufgrund seiner prägenden Form- und Farbenlehre eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Kandinskys Farbenseminar gehörte zur „Einführung in die abstrakten Formelemente“ und beeinflusste das Bauhaus bis in die Arbeit der Werkstätten und in die Bauabteilung hinein. Der Zusammenhang von Farben und Formen nahm in Kandinskys Denken einen zentralen Platz ein. Die für das Bauhaus charakteristische Zuordnung der drei Grundfarben Rot, Gelb und Blau zu Quadrat, Dreieck und Kreis geht auf eine Umfrage Kandinskys am Weimarer Bauhaus zurück. Die Mehrzahl der Befragten schloss sich seiner Argumentation an. Es gab jedoch auch Kritik, so beispielsweise von Oskar Schlemmer. Die vermeintlich empirisch gestützte Farb-Form-Zuordnung, die schnell zu einem Markenzeichen für das Bauhaus wurde, genießt noch heute ungebrochene Popularität.

Kandinskys Farbenlehre folgt keineswegs rein wissenschaftlichen Überlegungen, obwohl er viele diesbezügliche Ansätze kannte, darunter die des Chemikers und Nobelpreisträgers Wilhelm Ostwald. Es sind vielmehr introspektiv gewonnene Erkenntnisse, die er als wissenschaftliche präsentierte. Seinen Studierenden führte er verschiedene Ordnungssysteme vor, demonstrierte zugleich aber auch deren Relativität. Seine Farbenlehre entwickelte er bereits in seiner frühen Schrift „Über das Geistige in der Kunst“ (1911), mit der er, angeregt von Goethes farbenpsychologischen Betrachtungen, eine synästhetisch ausgerichtete Farbentheorie niederlegte.

In seinem Unterricht über „Analytisches Zeichnen“ forderte Kandinsky die rationale Durchdringung künstlerischer Gestaltungsgrundlagen. Sowohl die Sensibilisierung der Wahrnehmung als auch die konstruktive Bildorganisation waren zentrale Anliegen seiner Kunstpädagogik, einer „Erziehung zur klaren Beobachtung und klaren Wiedergabe der Zusammenhänge“ wie Kandinsky es 1928 in der Bauhauszeitschrift formulierte.

Unter Hannes Meyers Direktorat unterrichtete Kandinsky auch den theoretischen Kurs „Künstlerische Gestaltung“ für höhere Semester. Hier ging es um die Untersuchung der Beziehungen zwischen Kunst, Architektur und Technik. Zahlreiche namhafte Künstler, u. a. Max Bill, besuchten die Freie Malklasse Kandinskys am Dessauer Bauhaus, da ihm als Künstler wie als Theoretiker ein außerordentlicher Ruf vorauseilte.