Fine Arts

Fine arts was initially held in high regard at the Bauhaus, although it expressly did not see itself as an art school in the traditional sense. Free art was to be subjugated to the ideal of “all workmen cooperating and interacting with one another” and to form the creative basis for work in design. Nevertheless, in practice, the independently creative artists at the Bauhaus Weimar had precedence. This concept also reflected the importance of the artists that Gropius had invited to Weimar. According to Gropius, these were to provide the spiritual foundations for education at the Bauhaus. Under the directors who followed Gropius – Hannes Meyer and Ludwig Mies van der Rohe – the influence of visual art was increasingly marginalised.

Free art, which was not bound to architecture, was recognised as a reservoir for new creative ideas at the Bauhaus – but it was not one of the subjects on the curriculum. In 1923, Walter Gropius wrote about “modern painting, which has breached its historic boundaries, has generated countless ideas that are still waiting to be exploited by the practical world”. Gropius’s first employees were the sculptor Gerhard Marcks, the painter Lyonel Feininger and the artist and teacher Johannes Itten. Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Georg Muche, Oskar Schlemmer and László Moholy-Nagy joined them later. They taught the principles of design and were the artistic directors of the workshops. In this context, the masters were entirely free to decide on the content and character of the lessons.

In the early years, the Bauhaus was characterised by controversies about the value and role of art in the overall structure and educational programme of the school. The artists who were appointed at the very beginning, including Feininger, Muche and Marcks (but not Itten), primarily saw themselves functioning as personal role models. On the other hand, the masters appointed subsequently, such as Klee, Kandinsky and Moholy-Nagy, recognised that the Bauhaus aspired to become a purpose-led academy and workplace that coordinated the arts and explored the laws of form and colour. At the same time, they did not want these principles to be mistaken as a recipe for the production of works of art. Instead, they wanted them to be seen as universally valid models for the elucidation and development of the various art disciplines. In the first Bauhaus magazine of 1926, Wassily Kandinsky explained the role, which the artists gave to teaching the principles of design: “Painting is seen as a co-organising force.”

The establishment of the free painting classes in the winter semester of 1927/28 heralded a new period of conflict. The progressive functionalisation and technological orientation of the workshops was countered by the intensified production of visual art. The visionary unity of art and design for a modern, more humane society began to dissolve. Ernst Kállai, editor of the Bauhaus magazine, stated at the end of the 1920s that there was a “solely purpose-led and construction-orientated objectivity typified by mass production” on the one hand and a “metaphysical approach characterised by dream, vision, unequivocal spiritual belief or paradoxical acts of magic” on the other.

The diversity of the artworks produced at the Bauhaus ranges from late expressionism and geometric-abstract works to the figurative works of New Objectivity or even Surrealism. There is certainly no unified “Bauhaus art” or “Bauhaus painting,” let alone a “Bauhaus style”.

Bildende Kunst

Der bildenden Kunst wurde am Bauhaus zunächst eine große Bedeutung zugemessen, obwohl es sich ausdrücklich nicht als Kunstschule im traditionellen Sinne verstand. Die freie Kunst sollte sich dem Ideal „eines Mit- und Ineinanderwirkens aller Werkleute“ unterordnen und die kreative Basis für die gestalterische Arbeit bilden. Gleichwohl hatte in der Praxis der autonom schaffende Künstler am Weimarer Bauhaus die Priorität. Diesem Konzept entsprach auch der Rang der Künstler, die Gropius nach Weimar berief und die nach seiner Vorstellung das geistige Fundament der Lehre liefern sollten. Unter den auf Gropius folgenden Direktoren Hannes Meyer und Mies van der Rohe wurde der Einfluss der bildenden Kunst zunehmend marginalisiert.

Die freie, nicht an Architektur gebundene Kunst wurde am Bauhaus als Reservoir für neue schöpferische Ideen anerkannt, war aber kein Lehrfach. „Von der modernen Malerei, die ihre alten Grenzen durchbrach, gingen zahllose Anregungen aus, die noch ungenutzt ihrer Verwirklichung durch die Werkwelt harren“, schrieb Walter Gropius 1923. Gropius berief zuerst den Bildhauer Gerhard Marcks und den Maler Lyonel Feininger sowie den Künstler und Pädagogen Johannes Itten. Später kamen Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, Georg Muche, Oskar Schlemmer und László Moholy-Nagy hinzu. Sie vermittelten gestalterische Grundlagen und waren künstlerische Leiter der Werkstätten. Inhalt und Art des Unterrichts war dabei ganz den Intentionen der Meister überlassen.

Besonders die ersten Jahre des Bauhauses waren gekennzeichnet von Kontroversen um den Stellenwert und die Rolle der Kunst sowohl im Gesamtgefüge als auch im Erziehungsprogramm der Schule. Während mit Ausnahme von Itten die in der unmittelbaren Aufbauphase berufenen Künstler Feininger, Muche und Marcks ihre Aufgabe vor allem in der persönlichen Vorbildfunktion sahen, erkannten die später berufenen Meister wie Klee, Kandinsky und Moholy-Nagy die Herausbildung einer zielbewussten, die Künste koordinierenden, Form- und Farbgesetzte erforschenden Lehr- und Arbeitsstätte als Ziel der Entwicklung des Bauhauses an. Zugleich wollten sie diese Gesetze nicht mit Rezepturen für die Herstellung von Kunstwerken verwechselt sehen: Sie sollten vielmehr als allgemeingültiges Erklärungs- und Entwicklungsmuster für die unterschiedlichen Erscheinungsbilder künstlerischer Formen gelten. Wassily Kandinsky erläutert 1926 in der ersten Bauhauszeitschrift die Rolle des von den bildenden Künstlern getragenen, gestalterischen Grundlagenunterrichts: „Die Malerei wird als mitorganisierende Kraft betrachtet“.

Mit der Einrichtung der freien Malklassen im Wintersemester 1927/28 deutete sich eine neue Phase der Auseinandersetzung an. Fortschreitende Funktionalisierung sowie Technikorientierung in den Werkstätten und eine intensivierte Bildkunstproduktion standen sich gegenüber. Die visionäre Einheit von Kunst und Gestaltung für eine moderne, humanere Gesellschaft begann sich aufzulösen. Ernst Kállai, Schriftleiter der Bauhauszeitschrift, konstatierte Ende der 1920er Jahre einerseits eine „lediglich zweck- und konstruktionsbestimmte, massenwirtschaftlich-typisierte Sachlichkeit“ und andererseits die von „Traum, Vision, nacktem Seelenbekenntnis oder paradoxer Zauberkünstelei gekennzeichnete Metaphysik“.

Die Vielfalt der am Bauhaus entstandenen Kunstwerke reicht von spätexpressionistischen über geometrisch-abstrakte bis hin zu figürlichen, teils neusachlichen oder auch surrealistischen Arbeiten. Von einer einheitlichen „Bauhaus-Kunst“, einer „Bauhaus-Malerei“, geschweige denn einem „Bauhaus-Stil“, kann keine Rede sein.