Teaching

Education at the Bauhaus took place according to a plan determined by Walter Gropius. In the preliminary course, students received basic training in the properties of colours, forms and materials. The core of the advanced courses was the work in the workshops, directed in Weimar by a master of form and a master of works. All of this served as preparation for the building apprenticeship, which stood at the centre of the curriculum. Some of the most important artists of the day taught at the Bauhaus. In addition to the artistic disciplines, subjects such as geometry, mathematics and business management were also taught.

The training in the workshops was preceded by the preliminary course, a trial semester where the personal skills of the students were tested and the foundations of craftsmanship and design were taught. Even today, the renowned preliminary course led by Johannes Itten is said to be representative of the Bauhaus’s approach to education. After a disagreement between Itten and Gropius about the content and fundamental orientation of the preliminary course, this was eventually taken over and radically restructured by László Moholy-Nagy in 1923. A works course developed by Josef Albers supported the activities of the preliminary course from 1923. The quality and character of the works created in the preliminary course were decisive for the student’s ultimate acceptance in one of the workshops.

At the Bauhaus, the professors became masters and the students worked in workshops rather than an academy. The workshops formed the core of the training and were gradually developed in Weimar up to 1921. The workshops that defined the profile of the Bauhaus were those for carpentry, weaving, ceramics, wall painting and metalwork. Others included the sculpture, glass painting and bookbinding workshops and the graphic print workshop.

With duties in the workshop divided between the visual artist as master of form and the masters of works, a dual educational principle was introduced, but maintained only during the Weimar period of the Bauhaus. While the overall direction of the workshop was in the hands of an artist – who was especially responsible for formal innovations and the introduction of creative ideas – the master of works oversaw the technical management of the workshop and training in the crafts.

During the Dessau period the junior masters, who were trained in both artistry and craftsmanship at the Weimar workshops, were able to take over the management of the workshops. Here, teamwork played an important role, and technical and formal experiments were conducted across all levels. Practical functionality tests and the creative use of the latest technological resources were also part of the workshop training programme. In the ceramics workshop in Weimar, prototypes for industrial manufacture were already being developed according to the theory promoted by Walter Gropius in 1923: “Art and technology – a new unity.”

The courses devised by Paul Klee and Wassily Kandinsky accompanied and supplemented the training beyond the preliminary course. The work in the workshops was moreover complemented by instruction in non-artistic subjects such as mathematics and building materials theory.

With the move to Dessau, the school was renamed Hochschule für Gestaltung (school of design). Studies were now no longer completed with the journeyman’s certificate but with an academic diploma. The theoretical instruction became more broadly based when, for example, engineering science was included in the teaching curriculum under the second director, Hannes Meyer. Now there were regular lessons in chemistry, technical drawing, statics, psychology, business management and other subjects. Hannes Meyer also organised vertical brigades where students of various educational levels worked on a project from the blueprint stage to the construction site. In addition, numerous experts were invited to hold guest lectures. These included among others the philosophers Rudolf Carnap and Otto Neurath, the psychologist Karlfried Graf Dürckheim and the art historian Karel Teige. Under the third director, Ludwig Mies van der Rohe, the Bauhaus developed into a type of technical university for architecture with support from the art and workshop departments.

Lehre

Die Ausbildung am Bauhaus erfolgte nach einem von Walter Gropius festgelegten Schema. Im Vorkurs erhielten die Studierenden die Grundausbildung über die Beschaffenheit von Farbe, Form und Material. Kern der weiteren Lehre war die Arbeit in den Werkstätten, die in Weimar von einem Formmeister und einem Werkmeister geleitet wurden. All dies diente der Vorbereitung auf die Baulehre, die im Zentrum der Ausbildung stand. Am Bauhaus unterrichteten einige der bedeutendsten Künstler ihrer Zeit. Außerhalb des künstlerischen Kanons wurden auch Fächer wie Geometrie, Mathematik und Betriebswirtschaftslehre angeboten.

Der eigentlichen Bauhauslehre in den Werkstätten vorgeschaltet war der Vorkurs, ein Probesemester, in dem die persönliche Eignung des Studierenden getestet und die handwerklichen und gestalterischen Grundlagen vermittelt wurden. Noch heute wird der berühmte Vorkurs in der Prägung von Johannes Itten als stellvertretend für die sogenannte Bauhaus-Pädagogik bezeichnet. Nach der inhaltlichen Auseinandersetzung zwischen Itten und Gropius über die grundsätzliche Ausrichtung des Vorkurses wurde dieser schließlich 1923 von László Moholy-Nagy übernommen, der ihn grundlegend umstrukturierte. Eine von Josef Albers aufgebaute Werklehre unterstützte ab 1923 die Arbeit des Vorkurses. Im Vorkurs entstanden Arbeiten, deren Qualität und Eigenart über die endgültige Aufnahme in eine der Werkstätten entschied.

Aus den Professoren waren am Bauhaus Meister geworden, statt in der Akademie wurde in Werkstätten gearbeitet. Diese bildeten das Herzstück der Ausbildung und wurden in Weimar schrittweise bis 1921 aufgebaut. Zu den profilbestimmenden gehörten hier die Tischlerei, Weberei, Töpferei, Wandmalerei und die Metallwerkstatt. Darüber hinaus wurden Studierende in der Bildhauerei, Glasmalerei, Buchbinderei und der Graphischen Druckerei ausgebildet.

Mit der Arbeitsaufteilung zwischen Bildendem Künstler als Formmeister der Werkstatt und dem Handwerksmeister wurde ein duales Ausbildungsprinzip eingeführt, das nur in der Weimarer Zeit des Bauhauses Bestand hatte. Während die Gesamtleitung der Werkstatt in der Hand eines Künstlers lag, der besonders für die Formerneuerung und die Einbringung kreativer Ideen verantwortlich war, oblag dem Handwerksmeister die technische Werkstattleitung und die handwerkliche Ausbildung.

In der Dessauer Zeit konnten in den Weimarer Werkstätten gleichermaßen künstlerisch wie handwerklich ausgebildete Jungmeister die Leitung übernehmen. Zusammenarbeit spielte in den Werkstätten eine bedeutende Rolle, technische und formale Experimente wurden auf breiter Ebene durchgeführt. Praktische Funktionstests und die kreative Nutzung neuester technologischer Möglichkeiten gehörten ebenfalls zum Ausbildungsprogramm der Werkstätten. Bereits in Weimar wurden in der Keramikwerkstatt Prototypen für die industrielle Fertigung gemäß der von Walter Gropius 1923 propagierten These „Kunst und Technik – eine neue Einheit“ entwickelt.

Der Unterricht von Paul Klee und Wassily Kandinsky begleitete und ergänzte die Ausbildung über den Vorkurs hinaus, zudem wurde die Arbeit in den Werkstätten durch Unterricht in nichtkünstlerischen Fächern wie Mathematik und Baustofflehre begleitet.

Der Umzug nach Dessau brachte eine Umbenennung zur Hochschule für Gestaltung mit sich, das Studium wurde nun nicht mehr mit dem Gesellenbrief sondern mit dem Diplom abgeschlossen, der theoretische Unterricht auf eine breitere Basis gestellt. Unter dem zweiten Direktor Hannes Meyer wurden so zum Beispiel die Ingenieurwissenschaften ins Lehrprogramm eingebunden. Es gab nun regulären Unterricht in Chemie, Fachzeichnen, Statik, Psychologie, Betriebslehre und anderen Fächern. Hannes Meyer organisierte auch die „vertikalen Brigaden”, in denen Studierende verschiedener Ausbildungsstufen an einem Projekt arbeiteten, vom Entwurf bis zur Baustelle. Außerdem wurden verstärkt Fachleute zu Gastvorträgen eingeladen. Zu den Dozenten gehörten unter anderen die Philosophen Rudolf Carnap und Otto Neurath, der Psychologe Karlfried Graf Dürckheim und der Kunsthistoriker Karel Teige. Unter dem dritten Direktor Ludwig Mies van der Rohe entwickelte sich das Bauhaus zu einer Art Technischer Hochschule für Architektur mit zuarbeitender Kunst- und Werkstattabteilung.