Bauhaus Dessau

The Dessau phase of the Bauhaus is characterised by the consolidation of its orientation towards the new unity of art and technology, which was initiated in Weimar in 1923. In Dessau, the Staatliches Bauhaus became the Hochschule für Gestaltung (school of design). In a departure from craftsmanship, there were now professors and students in place of masters, journeymen and apprentices. In the aspiring industrial city of Dessau, the Bauhaus found the ideal environment for the design of models for industrial mass production.

Surprisingly, following the politically motivated closure of the Bauhaus in Weimar, the change of location to Dessau did not result in a crisis in the school. If anything, it fostered its consolidation on the path to the design of new industrial products for the masses. Proclaimed at the Weimar exhibition of 1923, the new unity of art and technology – which is still the basis for the school’s international reputation – only achieved its full potential in Dessau. Starting with the famous Bauhaus Building – designed by the private architecture office of its founding director Walter Gropius in cooperation with the Bauhaus workshops and opened in 1926 –, the majority of the products and buildings that still define the image of the Bauhaus today were created in Dessau. In Dessau, the stylistically influential use of lower case lettering was established for the first time, and the foundation of the company Bauhaus GmbH allowed the students to participate in the success of the products developed at the Bauhaus.

Important advocates for the Bauhaus in Dessau included the free-spirited aviation pioneer and inventor Hugo Junkers, the city’s liberal mayor Fritz Hesse and the State Conservator Ludwig Grote. These not only looked to Bauhaus for solutions to the shortage of affordable housing for workers in industrial regions but also anticipated innovative cultural impulses for the city. As an architect and designer who had already made a name for himself in 1911 with the celebrated glass building for the Fagus-Werk shoe last factory in Alfeld, Lower Saxony, Gropius was warmly welcomed by the Dessau city fathers. With the exception of Gerhard Marcks, the Weimar masters Lyonel Feininger, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Georg Muche and Oskar Schlemmer, who were already famous, followed Gropius to Dessau and moved into the Masters’ Houses that he had designed. This meant the most prominent artists’ colony of the day – famous even outside Germany – was in Dessau. The importance of this image factor for the emerging industrial location cannot be overestimated.

From 1926, the former Staatliches Bauhaus was officially called “Bauhaus – Hochschule für Gestaltung” (Bauhaus – School of Design). Instead of the customary journeyman’s certificate of the Weimar period, graduates received a diploma and the masters were appointed as professors. The artistic subjects were pushed aside in favour of courses orientated towards industrial design. While Itten’s students, who typically had shorn heads, still wore voluminous cloaks in the Weimar phase, the clothing in the Dessau phase was extremely modern: The men wore close-fitting suits, and the women cut their hair in a bob and wore trousers or knee-length skirts.

However, mistrust and resentment were also evident in Dessau. The lack of affordable living space due to the high costs for the experimental Dessau-Törten estate angered the middle classes in Dessau in the same way that the libertarian lifestyle at the Bauhaus sparked aversion. Given the incipient global economic crisis, there was little appreciation for the added cultural value of the Bauhaus with its stage, Bauhaus-Kapelle (Bauhaus band), readings and festivals. From 1927 in Dessau, as in Weimar before that, Gropius was once again forced to fight for the political survival of his school.

A year later, on Gropius’s recommendation, the director’s post was handed over to the Swiss architect and urbanist Hannes Meyer, previously the head of the architectural department established at the Bauhaus in 1927. Together with the students, Meyer built the Federal School of the German Trade Unions (ADGB) in Bernau close to Berlin and the Laubenganghäuser (Balcony Access Houses) in Dessau. His rallying cry at the Bauhaus was, “The needs of the people instead of the need for luxury.” In the process, he pursued the product-orientated ideas of the Weimar period, but in a more radical manner. According to him, art should be little more than a means to an end. However, because of his declared socialist sympathies, Meyer was at an even greater risk of being defamed as a “cultural Bolshevist”. In 1930, he was dismissed by the city council for supposed “communist practices”.

With Ludwig Mies van der Rohe in 1930, the Bauhaus acquired its last and – in contrast to Gropius and Meyer – least politically minded director. The school’s orientation towards architecture grew under his direction; however, there was also an increasing lack of socio-political reference. The students were most affected by the ban on any type of political activity and the discontinuation of production lines. Just one year after Mies van der Rohe took office, the city council of Dessau was already dominated by the NSDAP. The city passed a resolution to close the Bauhaus in Dessau as of September 1932. The relocation of the school with all its equipment to an old telephone factory in Berlin-Steglitz, which was organised by Mies van der Rohe, was just a brief interlude that preceded its final closure on 20th July 1933.

Bauhaus Dessau

Die Dessauer Zeit des Bauhauses war geprägt von der Festigung der Institution durch die bereits in Weimar 1923 eingeleitete Ausrichtung auf die neue Einheit von Kunst und Technik. In Dessau wurde das Bauhaus vom „Staatlichen Bauhaus“ zur „Hochschule für Gestaltung“. Statt Meistern, Gesellen und Lehrlingen gab es in Abkehr vom Handwerk nun Professoren und Studenten. In der aufstrebenden Industriestadt fand das Bauhaus ideale Bedingungen zur Gestaltung von Vorlagen für die industrielle Massenproduktion.

Nach der politisch erzwungenen Schließung des Bauhauses in Weimar, zog der Ortswechsel nach Dessau erstaunlicherweise keine Krise der Institution nach sich. Im Gegenteil, er förderte deren Konsolidierung auf dem Weg zur Gestaltung neuer industrieller Massenprodukte. Erst in Dessau sollte die in der Weimarer Ausstellung von 1923 proklamierte neue Einheit von Kunst und Technik zur vollen Entfaltung kommen, die dem weltweiten Ruf dieser Schule bis heute zugrunde liegt. Angefangen mit dem berühmten und 1926 eröffneten Gebäude des Dessauer Bauhauses aus dem privaten Baubüro seines Gründungsdirektors Walter Gropius in Zusammenarbeit mit den Bauhaus-Werkstätten entstand in der Dessauer Zeit das Gros der bekanntesten Produkte und Bauten, die das Bild des Bauhauses bis heute prägen. Erst in Dessau wurde die stilprägende Kleinschreibung zum Programm ebenso wie die Gründung der Bauhaus GmbH, durch die die Studenten am Erfolg der am Bauhaus entwickelten Produkte beteiligt werden konnten.

Wichtige Fürsprecher des Bauhauses in Dessau waren der freigeistige Flugzeugpionier und Erfinder Hugo Junkers, der damalige liberale Oberbürgermeister Fritz Hesse, sowie der Landeskonservator Ludwig Grote, die sich vom Bauhaus nicht nur die Lösung vieler sozialer Wohnungsprobleme für die Arbeiter der Industriereviere versprachen, sondern auch innovative kulturelle Impulse für die Stadt erhofften. Als Architekt und Designer, der sich unter anderem schon 1911 mit dem viel gelobten gläsernen Gebäude der Schuhleistenfabrik Fagus-Werk im niedersächischen Alfeld einen Namen gemacht hatte, war Gropius den Dessauer Stadtvätern hochwillkommen. Bis auf Gerhard Marcks waren ihm außerdem die schon damals berühmten Meister der Weimarer Zeit Lyonel Feininger, Wassily Kandinsky, Paul Klee, László Moholy-Nagy, Georg Muche und Oskar Schlemmer gefolgt, die in die von Gropius entworfenen Meisterhäuser einzogen. Damit besaß Dessau die über die Grenzen Deutschlands hinaus prominenteste Künstlerkolonie der Zeit. Ein nicht zu unterschätzender Image-Faktor für den aufstrebenden Industriestandort.

Seit 1926 nannte sich das vormals Staatliche Bauhaus nun offiziell „Bauhaus – Hochschule für Gestaltung“. Die Absolventen erhielten statt eines Gesellen-Briefes, wie er in der Weimarer Zeit üblich war, ein Diplom, die Meister wurden zu Professoren ernannt. Die künstlerischen Fächer wurden zugunsten der auf das industrielle Design orientieren Fächer zurückgedrängt. Hüllten sich die oft kahlgeschorenen Itten-Schüler in Weimar noch in weite Umhänge, gaben sich die Studenten der Dessauer Zeit äußerst modern: die Männer in engen Anzügen, die Frauen durchweg mit Bubikopf und teils in Hosen, teils in knielangen Röcken.

Doch auch in Dessau waren Misstrauen und Missgunst nicht weit. Der ausbleibende günstige Wohnraum durch die viel zu teure Experimental-Siedlung Dessau-Törten verärgerte das Dessauer Bürgertum, die libertäre Lebensart am Bauhaus erregte ebenfalls Widerwillen. Vor dem Hintergrund der aufziehenden Weltwirtschaftskrise wurde der kulturelle Mehrwert des Bauhauses mit seiner Bühne, seiner Bauhaus-Kapelle, seinen Lesungen und Festen nicht gewürdigt. Seit 1927 musste Gropius wie vorher in Weimar wieder um das politische Überleben seiner Schule kämpfen.

Ein Jahr später gab er den Direktorenposten an den von ihm vorgeschlagenen Schweizer Architekten und Urbanisten Hannes Meyer ab, dem vormaligen Leiter der 1927 neugegründeten Architekturabteilung des Bauhauses. Gemeinsam mit Studenten baute Meyer die Bundesschule des ADGB in Bernau bei Berlin und die Laubenganghäuser in Dessau. Am Bauhaus gab er die Parole aus: „Volksbedarf statt Luxusbedarf”. Damit führte er die Versachlichung des Bauhauses aus der Weimarer Zeit fort, wenn auch radikaler. Die Kunst sollte nur Mittel zum Gebrauch sein. Durch seine offenen Sympathien für den Sozialismus war Meyer jedoch noch stärker in Gefahr, als „Kulturbolschewist“ diffamiert zu werden. 1930 wurde er unter dem Vorwand „kommunistischer Machenschaften“ vom Stadtrat gekündigt.

Mit Ludwig Mies van der Rohe bekam das Bauhaus 1930 seinen letzten und im Gegensatz zu Gropius und Meyer am wenigsten politisch denkenden Direktor. Unter seiner Leitung wurde die Schule noch stärker auf die Architektur ausgerichtet, allerdings fehlten nun zunehmend die gesellschaftspolitischen Bezüge. Am empfindlichsten traf die Studenten neben dem Verbot jeder politischen Betätigung die Einstellung des Produktionsbetriebs. Nur ein Jahr nach Mies van der Rohes Amtsantritt dominierte die NSDAP den Dessauer Gemeinderat. Zum September 1932 beschloss die Stadt die Auflösung des Bauhauses in Dessau. Der von Mies van der Rohe organisierte Umzug der Schule unter Mitnahme sämtlicher Werkutensilien in eine alte Telefonfabrik in Berlin-Steglitz sollte bis zur endgültigen Schließung der Schule am 20. Juli 1933 nur noch Episode sein.