The Bauhaus

 
 
 
 
 
 

Walter Gropius, the founder of the Bauhaus, aspired to create a new unity of crafts, art and technology in a school with an international and interdisciplinary orientation. Its ultimate goal was the building as a Gesamtkunstwerk (total work of art). With an innovative and interdisciplinary approach to art education, the idea was to furnish young artists with the theoretical and practical knowledge required to meet the challenges of the new age.
read more

Studies at the Bauhaus began with the obligatory preliminary course, which taught methods for working with creative materials using a new and sometimes experimental educational approach. This was followed by training in the workshops, which largely dispensed with the division between theory and practice. The ultimate educational goal was to apply all the acquired knowledge to the building.
read more


  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     

The small international school rapidly made a name for itself. It had an active political and cultural life that integrated all of the arts. Modern lifestyles were tested, women were allowed to study outside of the women’s classes and a libertarian approach prevailed. The parties celebrated on Walter Gropius’s birthday and other occasions were legendary.
read more

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

The core of the educational curriculum was the apprenticeship in the workshops, which offered a broad spectrum of courses including glass painting, carpentry, ceramics, metalwork, stagecrafts, typography, photography and advertising. The workshops were initially headed by a team of two: a craftsman as a master of works and an artist as a master of form, thus guiding art and technology towards a new unity. The ultimate educational goal was to apply all the acquired knowledge to the building.
read more

pp

 
 
 
 
 
 

An einer international und interdisziplinär ausgerichteten Schule wollte der Bauhaus-Gründer Walter Gropius eine neue Einheit von Handwerk, Kunst und Technik umsetzen, deren Ziel der Bau als Gesamtkunstwerk war. Durch neuartige Methoden einer ganzheitlichen Kunstvermittlung sollten junge Künstler gleichermaßen in Theorie und Praxis auf die neue Aufgabe vorbereitet werden.
weiterlesen

Das Studium am Bauhaus begann mit dem obligatorischen Vorkurs, in dem auf pädagogisch neue und zum Teil experimentelle Weise der Umgang mit dem künstlerischen Material vermittelt wurde. Darauf folgte die Ausbildung in den Werkstätten, in denen die Trennung in Arbeit und Lehre weitgehend aufgehoben war. Ziel der Ausbildung war die Anwendung des Erlernten in der Baulehre.
weiterlesen


  •  
     
  •  
     
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     
  •  
     

An der kleinen und internationalen Schule, die sich früh einen Namen machte, gab es ein reges politisches und kulturelles Leben unter Einbeziehung aller Künste. Moderne Lebensstile wurden erprobt, Frauen waren außerhalb von Frauenklassen zum Studium zugelassen, es herrschte ein libertärer Umgang. Legendär waren auch die Feste, die zum Geburtstag von Walter Gropius und zu anderen Anlässen gefeiert wurden.
weiterlesen

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Kern der Ausbildung war die Lehre in den Werkstätten, die von der Bearbeitung von Glas, Holz, Keramik und Metall über Bühnenkunst bis zu Typografie, Fotografie und Reklame eine große Bandbreite hatten. Die Werkstätten wurden zunächst dualistisch von einem Handwerker als Werkmeister und einem Künstler als Formmeister geleitet, um Kunst und Technik zu einer neuen Einheit zu führen. Ziel der Werkstattarbeit war die Anwendung in der Baulehre.
weiterlesen